 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
While all of your textbooks are available in your Blackboard course pages, WCU Library provides supplementary eBooks for you to use in your research. Please see the boxes below for selected eBooks on Public Health, Health Promotion, and Epidemiology.
Additional eBooks can be found in the Research & Writing and Ethics sections of this guide, as well as in the WCU library catalog.
For information on each eBook, hover over the circular " i " icon.
Essentials of Public Health by
New bonus e-chapter on Public Health Preparedness and Response and the COVID-19 Pandemic now available.As one of the foundational texts in the Essential Public Health series, Essentials of Public Health, Fourth Edition -- formerly authored by Turnock -- is a thorough introduction to the field of public health, covering public health practice, government public health, and careers in public health. After defining public health and looking at the current U.S. public health system and practice, the book explores population health measurement, policy development, and collaboration between the public health and the health system. Final chapters examine career opportunities in public health administration, epidemiology, public health nursing, and health education as well as emerging ones such as health information technologists, emergency managers, and more. Helpful learning tools such as chapter exercises and discussion questions, making it an ideal text to prepare your students for the profession of public health.Thoroughly revised, the Fourth Edition includes:- New unifying theme -- Public Health 3.0 and its new recommendations for 21st century public health practice -- woven throughout the first six chapters.- New content related to health reform under the ACA, including its implementation under the current administration, and its potential to improve public health- Significantly more tables and figures, references and weblinks, and new "Outside the Book" exercises to enhance learning.- Updated and enhanced chapters that detail the wide range of career opportunities in public health to help guide undergraduate students in their career path.
Health Program Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation by 
Health program planning and evaluation : a practical, systematic approach for community health by 
Acceleration of the Biopsychosocial Model in Public Health by 
Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics by
Written for those who are familiar with the basic strategies of analytic epidemiology, Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics takes readers through a more rigorous discussion of key epidemiologic concepts and methods such as study design, measures of association, research assessment, and more.With real-life examples throughout, the book avoids complex statistical formulations and is an invaluable resource for intermediate students and practicing epidemiologists who wish to expand their knowledge of epidemiology and its role in the medical and public health sciences.The Fourth Edition offers updated examples and new exercises in each chapter as well as many new discussions of topics such as: prevalence ratios vs. odds ratios; inverse probability weighting as a technique for correcting for selection bias; regression to the mean as a source of confounding (Glymour bias); mediation analysis; correction for competing causes in multivariate analysis; the extension of the Cox model for the analysis of nested case-control studies; multilevel analysis; translational epidemiology and much more.This edition also offers an updated package of instructor materials including instructor's manual, PowerPoint lecture slides, and a test bank.
Interpreting Epidemiologic Evidence by
Epidemiology, the so-called "science of public health," has undergone a boom in the last decade as public interest and engagement in population health has skyrocketed. While this boom has done much to spark advances in the technology of epidemiology, it has also made it harder for those whowant to use epidemiology to guide policy and clinical practice to fully appreciate the meaning of the research findings. Interpreting Epidemiologic Evidence offers those who have had an introductory course in epidemiology the knowledge they need to make clear connections from research findings to practical applications. Written in clear and lively prose, it empowers students at all levels to evaluate a study's design,implementation, and ultimate findings, giving the guidance needed to apply the information appropriately. Liberal use of practical examples serves both to illustrate core concepts and to motivate readers to think critically about the causal connections that population health studies aim to explore.Completely revised and updated, this new edition of Interpreting Epidemiologic Evidence is an invaluable core text for both epidemiologists in training and practitioners across other disciplines with even an introductory knowledge of epidemiology.
Methods in Social Epidemiology by
A thorough, practical reference on the social patterns behind health outcomes Methods in Social Epidemiology provides students and professionals with a comprehensive reference for studying the social distribution and social determinants of health. Covering the theory, models, and methods used to measure and analyze these phenomena, this book serves as both an introduction to the field and a practical manual for data collection and analysis. This new second edition has been updated to reflect the field's tremendous growth in recent years, including advancements in statistical modeling and study designs. New chapters delve into genetic methods, structural cofounding, selection bias, network methods, and more, including new discussion on qualitative data collection with disadvantaged populations. Social epidemiology studies the way society's innumerable social interactions, both past and present, yields different exposures and health outcomes between individuals within populations. This book provides a thorough, detailed overview of the field, with expert guidance toward the real-world methods that fuel the latest advances. Identify, measure, and track health patterns in the population Discover how poverty, race, and socioeconomic factors become risk factors for disease Learn qualitative data collection techniques and methods of statistical analysis Examine up-to-date models, theory, and frameworks in the social epidemiology sphere As the field continues to evolve, researchers continue to identify new disease-specific risk factors and learn more about how the social system promotes and maintains well-known exposure disparities. New technology in data science and genomics allows for more rigorous investigation and analysis, while the general thinking in the field has become more targeted and attentive to causal inference and core assumptions behind effect identification. It's an exciting time to be a part of the field, and Methods in Social Epidemiology provides a solid reference for any student, researcher, or faculty in public health.
Epidemiological Research Applications for Public Health Measurement and Intervention by 
Health Promotion in Disease Outbreaks and Health Emergencies by
The book is exceptionally timely and will be of interest to many professionals, students and academics. I am not aware of any other book that covers this important topic. Glenn Laverack brings credibility and kudos having direct experience of health emergencies and seen as a leading academic thinker in health promotion. Dr James Woodall, Reader in Health Promotion, Leeds Beckett University Using specific examples to illustrate broader concepts, this text provides a solid introduction to health promotion in infectious disease outbreaks. Ella Watson-Stryker, Health Promotion Manager, Médecins Sans Frontières This book is timely given the current humanitarian and development scenarios in which health promoters and development communicators must work. There is a dire need for reference materials for practitioners which expand upon theoretical/scientific concepts and principles and provide practical, straightforward guidance to professionals working in the field. The increasing amount of public health emergencies, e.g. SARS, Ebola, Zika etc. require professionals to increase their preparedness to respond in outbreak or disaster situations and this book becomes a useful tool for needed action. Dr Erma Manoncourt, Vice-President of Membership and Co-Chair Global Working Group on the Social Determinants of Health, IUHPE, Paris, France. This is the first ever practical guide to the valuable role that health promotion can play in disease outbreaks and health emergencies. Over the past 20 years the number of disease outbreaks has increased alongside a significant role played out by international agencies involved in emergency responses. The book comprehensively covers the role that health promoters have in this new and exciting field of international work including data collection, communication, community capacity building and engagement and rumour management. Part 1 provides a detailed overview of the role of health promotion in disease outbreaks and health emergencies. Part 2 directly addresses the role of health promotion in two distinct types of disease outbreaks: person to person and vector borne disease transmission. Part 3 covers the role of health promotion in specialist areas of work in disease outbreaks and health emergencies. Health Promotion in Disease Outbreaks and Health Emergencies is essential reading for health promotion and public health students worldwide, as well as for UN agencies and international NGOs working in this emerging field.
Human Disease and Health Promotion by
The essential tools and methodologies for real-world patient education Human Disease and Health Promotion offers a comprehensive introduction to health advocacy and patient education in a real-world context. Covering the epidemiology and pathology of major communicable and non-communicable diseases, this book details up-to-date health promotion strategies and communication approaches designed to engage diverse populations. These methodologies can inform health promotion efforts. You'll learn how to partner with the patient to navigate healthcare systems and services and how to manage the relationship to avoid patient dependence and advocate burn-out. An extensive guide to common diseases includes details on mechanism, treatment, epidemiology, pathology, and attendant psychosocial implications, and prevention and control are emphasized to the degree that the patient has the capacity to obtain, process, and understand the information and services needed to make appropriate health decisions. Rich in examples, tools, and exercises, this text includes access to a downloadable workbook that provides additional exercises to reinforce concepts and build essential practical skills. Public health education and advocacy is an enormous undertaking with many variables. This book helps provides a real-world picture of the depth and breadth of the field, with clear guidance toward current theory and practice. Apply current health literacy theories and participatory patient education strategies Design, implement, and evaluate programs targeting various groups Analyze and apply new technologies in patient education and health advocacy Understand the mechanisms, treatments, and epidemiology of common diseases Nine out of ten adults may lack the skills needed to manage their health and prevent disease, and over half find it a challenge to self-manage chronic diseases and use health services appropriately. Human Disease and Health Promotion helps you develop your role as health educator and advocate so you can connect patients with the care and information they need.
Journey across the life span : human development and health promotion by Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved
