LibGuides: Speech: Searching for Articles &amp; Journals

Searching Using Databases

Beginning your research may become overwhelming. Below, you will find helpful database links to guide you through the research process. It is highly encouraged for all students, staff, and faculty to schedule a research appointment or a classroom instruction to learn more about database mechanics, search strategies, and other research needs. Try not to wait until the last minute to start your research.

Searching for Articles, eBooks, or Other Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO Reference helps find information on all subjects out of 607 reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and more.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view more than 250,000 eBooks in this large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. The breadth of information available through this collection ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. This database helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.