Accessibility at West Coast University Library

Credo is ADA compliant and has specific elements to aid visually-impaired users, including hyperlinks specifically placed to help screen readers navigate the site. Credo provides text equivalents for images, charts and graphs.

• Keyboard-only navigation 

• Text-to-speech functionality  

• All non-text images have associated text equivalents, including captions when provided by the original publisher and alt text. 

• Partially supports ARIA labels for more descriptive information to aid screen readers 

• 60 supported language translations available 

• Text can be resized via a browser without loss of content or functionality. 

• Can be rendered in any modern browser and supports standard browser magnification and contrast adjustments. 

EBSCO databases have a read-aloud feature for HTML articles that may be manually activated.

• choose the HTML Full Text option and the Listen icon appears on the Tools list just under the title of the article

• you may select three different accents and reading speeds

• to pause the reading, click on the pause button

• there slso is a MP3 audio file download option

All HTML Full Text articles in EBSCOhost databases have a text-to-speech option and an option to download the audio file as an MP3. However, many articles are not available in HTML. EBSCO PDFs after 2004 are ADA compliant. Accessibility in a PDF document enables users with disabilities, such as blindness, low vision and mobility impairment, to read, listen to, and interact with your document content with or without the aid of assistive technology.

• Text-to-Speech functionality on HTML full-text articles 

• Transcripts for videos and audiobooks 

• Descriptive page titles and alternate text for meaningful images 

• ARIA landmarks to assist users with screen readers 

• Keyboard-only navigation

Gale Databases also offer a read-aloud feature for HTML articles. Click on the Listen button to have HTML full-text documents in Gale databases read aloud. Articles may also be downloaded as an audio file in MP3. Not all Gale PDFs are ADA compliant.

Many ProQuest documents are ADA compliant. However, older PDFs (identified as ‘Scanned image PDFs’) are not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.

• All images used to represent functionality or actions have associated text labels 

• Transcripts are available for most video-only and audio-only content 

• Synchronized captions are available for the majority of video content 

• Product functionality is available and executable from a keyboard. 

• Text throughout the ProQuest platform can be resized without assistive technology up to 200% without loss of content or functionality 

• Non-text content, such as icons, meets minimum standards of 3:1 color contrast ratio with the surrounding background