Skip to Main Content
While all of your textbooks are available in your Blackboard course pages, WCU Library provides supplementary eBooks for you to use in your research.
Additional eBooks can be found in the Research & Writing and Ethics sections of this guide, as well as in the WCU library catalog.
For information on each eBook, hover over the circular " i " icon.
Human Resource Management in Health Care by Charles R. McConnell
Written for practitioners and students in all health disciplines, this practical hands-on guide to human resource management covers topics such as recruitment, compensation and benefits, training, termination, legal issues, labor unions, and more.Each chapter is introduced by a case study related to the material that follows. The case study is resolved by the end of each chapter with expert commentary and practical suggestions. Chapters also feature real-life learning objectives, provocative questions for review and discussion, and a "Spotlight on Community Service" to emphasize the importance of customer service in the context of the material presented in the chapter. Numerous examples, sample forms and documents are also included.Thoroughly updated, the Third Edition now includes:3 NEW CHAPTERS: - Ethics and Ethical Behavior addresses ethical conduct at all organization levels, and offers a sample organizational "Code of Conduct"- The Impact and Effect of Social Media is treated in another new chapter, detailing both its benefits and shortcomings.- Human Resource Consultants and Human Resource Arbitration combines former chapters 21 and 22 into a streamlined, comprehensive update.UPDATED employment-related legislation and case law, including the Family Medical Leave Act and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) NEW COVERAGE of diversity in recruiting and possible discrimination due to social media interactions.EXPANDED AND UPDATED TREATMENT of privacy and sexual harassment, counseling, employee behavior and substance abuse, succession planning, and much more.
Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Management of Healthcare Organizations by Peter C. Olden
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides for each chapter, and suggested answers to discussion questions. Management problems are complex and rarely fixed with a single, universal solution. Particularly in healthcare organizations, management is fluid, and the "right" approach depends on a variety of ever-changing factors. Management of Healthcare Organizations: An Introduction provides an integrated, practical approach to management that is applicable to all kinds of healthcare organizations. The book prepares future managers and leaders to assess situations and develop solutions with confidence. Author Peter C. Olden combines extensive real-world management experience with academic expertise to explain fundamental management theories, concepts, methods, and tools and how to apply them in healthcare organizations. Adopting a student-centered approach, he uses a fresh, engaging style and clear organization of content supported by many exhibits, sidebars, and an appealing design. Although primarily intended for undergraduate students interested in managing healthcare organizations, this book is also a valuable resource for allied health majors and practicing healthcare managers. This edition has been updated extensively with three new case studies; current examples, exercises, and data; and new or expanded information on these and other topics: Population health and the continuum of careStrategic planningHorizontal process organizingDiversity and inclusionObtaining and retaining staffLeading and motivating peoplePerformance improvement, Six Sigma, and LeanOrganizational change management methodsProfessionalism and emotional intelligenceEach chapter begins with learning objectives and a real-world example based on an extended, contemporary case study that runs through the book and connects all the chapters. The book also features an end-of-chapter mini case study and seven integrative case studies. These cases enable students to use concepts and methods from multiple chapters to fully resolve a given management problem, reinforcing the chapters' concepts. Chapter summaries and discussion questions offer additional learning opportunities. The writing style and activities help students learn management as an integrated body of knowledge and tools they can use in their careers. Whether you are new to healthcare management or are looking to advance your career, Management of Healthcare Organizations teaches the fundamental principles and skills needed to successfully manage a healthcare organization.
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Strategic Healthcare Management by Stephen Lee Walston
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides for each chapter, answers to the chapter questions, and suggestions for presenting and discussing the cases. A healthcare organization's mission should direct its strategies. Successful leaders make good decisions that advance their organization's ability to achieve its mission--and thereby gain a strategic mission advantage--even in the face of uncertainty. This book explores in depth the development and implementation of strategy to achieve mission advantage. It provides both the theoretical concepts and the practical tools leaders need to make better strategic decisions. Its cases and examples show how strategic principles can be applied to the intricacies of the contemporary healthcare system, always tying back to the key stakeholders, values, mission, and vision that underpin healthcare organizations and their purpose. A notable feature of this edition is its emphasis on learning through topical and timely case studies that depict strategic challenges healthcare leaders commonly face. These challenges range from issues of capitation, the formation of accountable care relationships, and competitive positioning to the dissolution of alliances and vertical integration, among others. Along with the necessary concepts and practical means for understanding, implementing, and monitoring strategies, this book also provides financial tools for directing strategic decisions and methods for analyzing healthcare markets. Noteworthy topics include the following and more: The shift to value-based care and reimbursement modelsThe continued evolution of healthcare reform and its effect on healthcare market structure Hospital and healthcare business models and how they are changingDisruptive innovation in healthcareThe impact of increasing consolidation of the insurance and provider sectorsThe advantages and challenges of alliances and partnerships, both domestic and internationalHealthcare stakeholders and their engagementAccountability in healthcare strategic plan executionGiven the rapid and seemingly constant change in healthcare, skillful strategic planning and its implementation are more essential than ever to achieving organizational success. This book gives readers the background they need to make decisions that promote their organization's success and mission.
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Health Management 2. 0 by Usman Khan; Federico Lega
Publication Date: 2021-06-28
Computational Intelligence and Soft Computing Applications in Healthcare Management Science by Muhammet Gul (Editor); Erkan Celik (Editor); Suleyman Mete (Editor); Faruk Serin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Operations Management for Healthcare Organizations by Stefano Villa
Publication Date: 2021-11-17
Basic Statistics and Epidemiology : A Practical Guide, Fourth Edition by Stewart, Antony
Basic Statistics and Epidemiologyis a straightforward primer in basic statistics that emphasizes its practical use in epidemiology and public health, providing an understanding of essential topics such as study design, data analysis and statistical methods used in the execution of medical research. Assuming no prior knowledge, the clarity of the text and care of presentation ensure those new to, or challenged by, these topics are given a thorough introduction without being overwhelmed by unnecessary detail. An understanding and appreciation of statistics is central to ensuring that professional practice is based on the best available evidence, in order to treat and help most appropriately the wider community. By reading this book, students, researchers, doctors, nurses and health managers will have the knowledge necessary to understand and apply the tools of statistics and epidemiology to their own practice.
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Concepts of Epidemiology by Raj S. Bhopal
Epidemiology is a population science that underpins health improvement and health care, by exploring and establishing the pattern, frequency, trends, and causes of a disease. Concepts of Epidemiology comprehensively describes the application of core epidemiological concepts and principles toreaders interested in population health research, policy making, health service planning, health promotion, and clinical care. The book provides an overview of study designs and practical framework for the geographical analysis of diseases, including accounting for error and bias within studies. It discusses the ways in which epidemiological data are presented, explains the distinction between association and causation, aswell as relative and absolute risks, and considers the theoretical and ethical basis of epidemiology both in the past and the future. This new edition places even greater emphasis on interactive learning. Each chapter includes learning objectives, theoretical and numerical exercises, questions and answers, a summary of the key points, and exemplar panels to illustrate the concepts and methods under consideration.Written in an accessible and engaging style, with a specialized glossary to explain and de\'1fne technical terminology, Concepts of Epidemiology is ideal for postgraduate students in epidemiology, public health, and health policy. It is also perfect for clinicians, undergraduate students andresearchers in medicine, nursing and other health disciplines who wish to improve their understanding of fundamental epidemiological concepts.
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics by Moyses Szklo; Javier Nieto
Written for those who are familiar with the basic strategies of analytic epidemiology, Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics takes readers through a more rigorous discussion of key epidemiologic concepts and methods such as study design, measures of association, research assessment, and more.With real-life examples throughout, the book avoids complex statistical formulations and is an invaluable resource for intermediate students and practicing epidemiologists who wish to expand their knowledge of epidemiology and its role in the medical and public health sciences.The Fourth Edition offers updated examples and new exercises in each chapter as well as many new discussions of topics such as: prevalence ratios vs. odds ratios; inverse probability weighting as a technique for correcting for selection bias; regression to the mean as a source of confounding (Glymour bias); mediation analysis; correction for competing causes in multivariate analysis; the extension of the Cox model for the analysis of nested case-control studies; multilevel analysis; translational epidemiology and much more.This edition also offers an updated package of instructor materials including instructor's manual, PowerPoint lecture slides, and a test bank.
Publication Date: 2018-05-02
Healthcare Informatics by Stephan P. Kudyba
Healthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency through Technology, Analytics, and Managementsupplies an understanding of the different types of healthcare service providers, corresponding information technologies, analytic methods, and data issues that play a vital role in transforming the healthcare industry. All of these elements are reshaping the various activities such as workflow and processes of hospitals, healthcare systems, ACOs, and patient analytics, including hot spotting, risk stratification, and treatment effectiveness. A follow-up to Healthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency and Productivity, this latest book includes new content that examines the evolution of Big Data and how it is revolutionizing the healthcare industry. It presents strategies for achieving national goals for the meaningful use of health information technology and includes sound project management principles and case illustrations for technology roll-out, such as Computer Physician Order Entry (CPOE) for optimal utilization. The book describes how to enhance process efficiency by linking technologies, data, and analytics with strategic initiatives to achieve success. It explains how to leverage data resources with analytics to enhance decision support for care providers through in-depth descriptions of the array of analytic methods that are used to create actionable information, including Business Intelligence, Six Sigma, Data, and Text Mining.
Publication Date: 2016-04-14
Hospitals and Health Systems by Charles R. McConnell
Hospitals and Health Systems: What They Are and How They Work takes a practical approach to explaining the history, development, and structure of modern health care institutions. EarlyChapters discuss the history of the hospital, Medicare and Medicaid, health insurance, as well as managed care and reimbursement to set the context for the modern hospital and health system network. The text moves on to explain how hospital mergers, reaction to cost escalation, and government and religious affiliations have led to the emergence of health systems, of which hospitals are an important part. Finally, it delves into operating today's modern hospital, including care structure and organization, direct patient care, staffing, physical facility, business activities (billing, accounting, health information management, electronic health records, etc.), and unions.
Publication Date: 2019-02-13
Jonas' Introduction to the U. S. Health Care System, 8th Edition by Raymond L. Goldsteen; Karen Goldsteen; Benjamin Goldsteen
Praise for the Seventh Edition: There are many books on the U.S. healthcare system, but few have the longevity of this one. It is easy to read and straightforward in its approach to difficult subjects such as the rise of the Tea Party and how that movement has impacted healthcare. This update is certainly needed as the landscape has changed dramatically since the previous edition was published. Doody's Medical Reviews The eighth edition of this best-selling text, valued for its concise and balanced introduction to the U.S. health care system, is entirely updated to reflect alterations to health care services, delivery, and financing resulting from the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The text describes how our health care system currently functions, the key forces that led to its structure, and the influences likely to shape the industry during the next 5 to 10 years. With an emphasis on policy development, the authors underscore the fluidity of the system and examine the debates and conflicts that have shaped health care changes and influenced American values and belief systems. Other new areas of focus include an assessment of who uses health care and in what way, health care trends, and a forecast for the health care system of the future. The text elucidates the basic building blocks of the health care system, including its components, organization, services, and financing. It describes the ongoing evolution of the system since the passage of the ACA, development of accountable care organizations (ACOs), and uneven acceptance of Medicaid expansion by states. Organized to facilitate understanding of concepts at work, the text provides health care students with a clear road map of the field in which they will practice, so they can position themselves to navigate the upcoming changes. New to the Eighth Edition: Entirely updated to address changes in health care services, delivery, and financing resulting from the ACADescribes influences that will shape the industry in years to come Emphasizes policy developmentAssesses current consumers of health care and how they use itExamines the debates and conflicts that have structured health care change Monitors health care trends Discusses the continuing evolution of our system since the ACAExplores the development of ACOsReinforces information with illustrative tables and figures Key Features: Remains the most concise and balanced introduction to the U.S. health care systemIdeal for use in undergraduate courses, in graduate survey courses, and in courses introducing the subject to medical studentsIncludes review questions at the conclusion of each chapterProvides a full suite of ancillary materials for the educator, including an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and a test bank
Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Evaluating Challenges and Opportunities for Healthcare Reform by Raj Selladurai (Editor); Charlie Hobson (Editor); Roshini Isabell Selladurai (Editor); Adam Greer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-02-07
Leadership & Communication
The Emerging Healthcare Leader by Laurie K. Baedke; Natalie D. Lamberton
In the ever-changing healthcare environment, the profession of healthcare management needs strong leaders who will rise to the challenges of today and carry organizations into the future. The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is an essential resource for those in the early stages of becoming a healthcare leader. Packed with tactics, tips, and illuminating straightforward examples, this book is an indispensable guide to building your career in healthcare leadership. Honestly and authentically, authors Laurie Baedke and Natalie Lamberton offer practical suggestions and share anecdotes, personal stories, and important lessons learned from their own professional experiences. The book covers: · Developing self-awareness · Practicing self-management · Cultivating your personal brand · Launching your career · Understanding and refining your leadership style · Learning and rebounding from failures · Maximizing your internship opportunities · Mastering the interview process This second edition includes new chapters on emotional intelligence and successful onboarding. Valuable content on technology, social media, online presence, networking, and professional decorum has been updated and expanded. Four new "Notes to My 25-Year-Old Self" from distinguished healthcare leaders are sources of additional inspiration and insight for readers. Whether you're a newcomer to healthcare management or transitioning into a leadership role, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide provides the advice and ideas you need to advance your career. "More than theory, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is your road map for that journey. A refreshing and practical tool, this should be your handbook, your back-pocket how-to resource as you traverse the early years of your leadership career." --Rulon F. Stacey, PhD, FACHE, Chairman (2011-2012), American College of Healthcare Executives
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Leadership in Healthcare by Paul Turner
This innovative book analyses the evolving nature of leadership, exploring an ever-increasing range of theoretical concepts and applying these to practices within healthcare organisations. A wide range of theories are covered, from behavioural to attitudinal, socio-cognitive to contingency, and social exchange to team. By identifying the common underlying characteristics that are present in leadership styles and approaches, the author successfully crafts a useful model that is adaptable to different scenarios and contexts within the realms of healthcare management. Offering a series of detailed case studies from around the world, this book proposes three crucial concepts for leadership within the health sector: leadership credibility, professional credibility and organisational dynamics. Both scholars and practitioners will find the theoretical framework provided in this book insightful and applicable in real-life situations.
Publication Date: 2019-01-12
The Safety Playbook: A Healthcare Leader's Guide to Building a High-Reliability Organization by John Byrnes; Susan Teman
Each year, more than 200,000 patients die as a result of medical errors--the third leading cause of death in the United States. Although the numbers are staggering and the challenges great, this national healthcare crisis is solvable--and fixing it has become a personal mission for John Byrnes, MD, and Susan Teman, RN. Byrnes and Teman have a proven track record in helping hospitals and health systems transform into high-reliability organizations that aim to deliver error-free care at an affordable cost. In T he Safety Playbook: A Healthcare Leader's Guide to Building a High-Reliability Organization , they lay out their process for building a safety program that can eradicate preventable medical errors. Written in a clear, conversational style, the book applies to all types of healthcare organizations and speaks to leaders across the spectrum--from board members and C-suite executives to clinical leaders; managers; and staff of quality, safety, and risk management departments. Readers of The Safety Playbook will: · Review the current rate of medical errors and explore proven solutions, including high reliability · Discover how transparency about errors and their causes makes a successful safety program possible · Learn how developing internal safety experts saves time and money · Examine safety tools and practices used effectively in high-reliability industries · Understand why communication is the top cause of medical errors and how to improve it · Explore guidelines used in other healthcare organizations that create a culture of safety · Study a sample project plan and timeline for implementing a safety program Filled with compelling case studies and practical tools and strategies, this groundbreaking book can be a catalyst for transforming an organization's culture, delivering safer care to patients, and ultimately saving lives. The American College of Healthcare Executives and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement/National Patient Safety Foundation's Lucian Leape Institute (IHI/NPSF LLI) have partnered to collaborate with some of the most progressive healthcare organizations and globally renowned experts in leadership, safety, and culture to develop Leading a Culture of Safety: A Blueprint for Success. This document is an evidence-based, practical resource with tools and proven strategies to help senior leaders in healthcare create a culture of safety--an essential foundation for achieving zero harm. The guide, freely downloadable from the IHI/NPSF website, is an excellent complement to The Safety Playbook. With both high-level strategies and practical tactics, the guide can be used to help determine the current state of an organization's journey, inform dialogue with its board and leadership team, and help its leaders set priorities. Whether an organization is just beginning the journey to a culture of safety or is working to sustain its safety culture, Leading a Culture of Safety can serve as a useful guide for directing efforts and evaluating an organizati
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Lean Hospitals by Mark Graban
Organizations around the world are using Lean to redesign care and improve processes in a way that achieves and sustains meaningful results for patients, staff, physicians, and health systems. Lean Hospitals, Third Edition explains how to use the Lean methodology and mindsets to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs, increasing capacity, and strengthening the long-term bottom line. This updated edition of a Shingo Research Award recipient begins with an overview of Lean methods. It explains how Lean practices can help reduce various frustrations for caregivers, prevent delays and harm for patients, and improve the long-term health of your organization. The second edition of this book presented new material on identifying waste, A3 problem solving, engaging employees in continuous improvement, and strategy deployment. This third edition adds new sections on structured Lean problem solving methods (including Toyota Kata), Lean Design, and other topics. Additional examples, case studies, and explanations are also included throughout the book. Mark Graban is also the co-author, with Joe Swartz, of the book Healthcare Kaizen: Engaging Frontline Staff in Sustainable Continuous Improvements, which is also a Shingo Research Award recipient. Mark and Joe also wrote The Executive's Guide to Healthcare Kaizen.
Publication Date: 2016-06-08
McLaughlin and Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care by William A. Sollecito; Julie K. Johnson
Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on quality management in health care, this text covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behavior, and health services research. With a particular focus on Total Quality Management and Continuous Quality Improvement, the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, hospital laboratories, public health departments, and academic health centers.
Publication Date: 2018-10-19
Essentials of Health Care Finance by William O. Cleverley; James O. Cleverley
Essentials of Health Care Finance provides health management students and executives with the most authoritative text on financial decision-making in the health care industry. This trusted resource explores finance theory and its practical application in health care across a full range of facilities, from hospitals and home health agencies to skilled nursing facilities, surgical centers and private physician practices. The vast, complex nature of the U.S. health care system renders traditional approaches to finance insufficient. Importantly, Essentials of Health Care Finance couches its discussion of economics, accounting and financial topics firmly within the unique context of the health care industry. Relevant and readable, this Eighth Edition of Essentials of Health Care Finance is fully revised and updated with current, real-world examples of financial problems and solutions as well as the latest financial ratio standards. This new edition also introduces ICD-10 coding and offers comprehensive coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act in all relevant chapters. New to the Eighth Edition: * All chapters updated with current examples and the latest financial ratio standards * Coverage of new topics throughout including, the introduction of ICD-10 coding, the impact of the ACA * New discussion of ACOs including ACO type cost variance analysis * Expanded coverage of specific costing of encounters using charge code level data * New discussion of capital project analysis in a health care system framework with corporate decision making * New discussion and examples of hospital acquisition of physician practices
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Health Care Finance by Judith J. Baker; R. W. Baker; Neil R. Dworkin
Health Care Finance: Basic Tools for Nonfinancial Managers, Fifth Edition is the most practical and applied text for those who need a basic and better understanding of health care financial management. Using actual examples from hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home health agencies, this user-friendly text includes practical information for the nonfinancial manager charged with budgeting. This exhaustive revision offers updated data throughout as well as six new chapters covering various cutting edge topics from the changing landscape in healthcare finance to understanding big data, strategic relationships, value based health care, and new payment methods. New to the Fifth Edition: Six new chapters that explore cutting edge topics from big data and the digital age, to value-based health care, MIPS & APMS, new requirements for payments in post-acute care. New case study: "The Doctor's Dilemma" Three new appendices offer helpful reference material on meaningful use, creating a DRG budget, and reviewing a comparative operating budget report.
Publication Date: 2017-02-23
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved