Skip to Main Content
Have a Question?
|24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Larry D. Purnell; Florida International University; Eric A. Fenkl
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
LGBTQ Cultures by Michele J. Eliason, Michele J; Peggy L. Chinn
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Winner of the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Community/Public Health category. Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated GBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology r elated to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populationsTopics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action About the Authors Michele J. Eliason, PhD, is Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Social Sciences at San Francisco State University in San Francisco, California. Peggy L. Chinn, RN, PhD, FAAN, is Professor Emerita of Nursing at the University of Connecticut and the Editor of Advances in Nursing Science . TE: Replace this text with the Full Description. Do not forget to check the Release to Eloquence box in the upper right hand corner
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by Larry Purnell (Editor); Eric Fenkl (Editor)
This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Publication Date: 2020-09-06
Cultural Perspectives on Mental Wellbeing by Natalie Tobert; Michael Cornwall (Foreword by)
As human migration brings an ever more diverse range of people, cultures and beliefs into contact, Western medical systems must adapt to cater for the different approaches it encounters towards illness, the body, gender, mental health and death. Based upon training courses taught by the author to staff at hospitals, mental health professionals, and on degree courses, this complete resource provides an essential foundation for understanding the complex and manifold approaches to medicine and health around the world. An awareness of this diversity moreover allows healthcare professionals to better engage with their patients and offer them satisfactory care and support in the future.
Publication Date: 2016-09-21
eBooks on Ethics and Law
Health Care Management and the Law by Donna K. Hammaker; Thomas M. Knadig
Health Care Management and the Law is designed for those who will be leading and shaping twenty-first century health care organizations. This unique text raises questions about health law issues such as emergence of the U.S. as a player in the global health care industry, innovative new approaches to the payer/provider model, and the future of tailored therapeutics. Throughout the text, the author addresses the challenges of what many view as a health care crisis in the United States and examines how laws must be reformed to create a system that works properly. The book bridges research and practice, reflecting new, real world knowledge of the health care industry and government agencies. The health law concepts in this text are practical; application of the concepts seeks to provide health care managers with sufficient knowledge of the law to become intelligent, critical thinkers in professional practice. Students will gain knowledge of when and why they should consult attorneys.Challenging, current administrative and judicial decisions are presented. Students can customize their learning experiences by selecting from thirty-seven topic chapters or studying a specific topic in-depth, using the text bibliography and multiple resources provided. The author focuses on interpretation, insight, and ideas; i.e. the meaning of the law, not only on what occurred pursuant to it.Key Features:* Explores not only physicians and hospitals, government regulations, and medical insurance issues, but also looks at the producers of medical products: pharmaceuticals, biotechnology and biopharmaceuticals, medical devices, and health information technology* Includes comprehensive, unbiased case studies presented in a comprehensive that accurately reflect the function and intention of the courts' rulings* Written with state-of-the-art research methods, using searchable online databases that are revolutionizing research on health care management and the law* Reviews jurisprudence and seeks common themes as well as conflicts* Clearly explains the innovations transforming global health industry practices and public policy
Publication Date: 2017-03-16
Legal and Ethical Essentials of Health Care Administration by George D. Pozgar
Legal and Ethical Essentials of Health Care Administration, Second Edition is the ideal text for courses that combine a study of both the legal and ethical aspects of healthcare administration. Derived from George Pozgar's best-selling textbook, Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration, Thirteenth Edition, this more concise text provides the reader with the necessary knowledge to become conversant with both legal and ethical issues pertinent to the healthcare profession.Using reader-friendly language, the book presents actual court cases, state and federal statues, and common-law principles to help the student understand the practical application of the concepts learned. The author includes a broad discussion of the legal system, including the sources of law and government organization as well as basic reviews of tort law, criminal issues, contracts, civil procedure and trial practice, and a wide range of real-life legal and ethical dilemmas that caregivers have faced as they wound their way through the courts.Key Features:- Streamlined organization for more effective teaching and learning.- Dynamic, real world focus that engages readers to apply the concepts learned to the issues they will potentially face on a daily basis- Opportunities for in-class experiential learning (moot court, debate issues, etc.)
Publication Date: 2020-03-25
Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration by George D. Pozgar
The most trusted resource in healthcare law is this classic text from George Pozgar, now completely revised. With new case studies and news clippings in each chapter, the 13th edition continues to serve as an ideal introduction to the legal and ethical issues in the healthcare workplace. This authoritative guide presents a wide range of health care topics in a comprehensible and engaging manner that will carefully guide your students through the complex maze of the legal system. This is a book they will hold on to throughout their careers.Healthcare administrators face an increasingly complex maze of legal issues as government regulation and health care reform evolves and corporate structures adapt to meet the changing demands of their constituencies. With a continued emphasis on the ethical challenges of providing quality care amidst these powerful and often chaotic industry forces, the 13th Edition helps future administrators navigate the core industry issues of patient centered care, the future workforce and the culture of compassion.With over 40 years of experience as an administrator, consultant, and surveyor across 650 hospitals, author George D. Pozgar provides a uniquely accessible tool for grasping the legal complexities of health care through an array or real-life case studies, precedent-making court cases, and key statistical data. In the 13th Edition, Mr. Pozgar once again invites the reader to explore the comprehensive range of legal issues--from tort reform and healthcare fraud to reporting requirements and patient rights.Legal Aspects of health Care Administration, 13th Edition is an indispensable text for future healthcare administrators and one that will serve them throughout their professional lives. The 13th edition presents a wide range of health care topics in a comprehensible and engaging manner that will carefully guide your students through the complex maze of the legal system. This is a book they will hold on to throughout their careers.
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved