LibGuides: Center for Graduate Studies A-Z Database List: Databases by Platform

Credo

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO Reference helps find information on all subjects out of 607 reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and more.

Credo is ADA compliant and has specific elements to aid visually-impaired users, including has hyperlinks specifically placed to helps screen readers navigate the site. Credo provides text equivalents for images, charts and graphs.

EBSCOHost

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is a comprehensive resource offering abstracts, indexing, and full-text content on topics such as Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies, and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects This link opens in a new window
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window
Dynamed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. DynaMed® is the clinical reference tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view more than 250,000 eBooks in this large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. The breadth of information available through this collection ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text coverage for more than 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information essential to all aspects of the health policy discipline. This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy including, but not limited to: health care access, health care quality, health care financing, etc. The database features hundreds of thousands of records, and offers complete coverage of more than 200 full-text titles. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library (LEX) by EBSCO provides interactive tutorials, practice tests, eBooks, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building. LearningExpress helps students improve the skills required for academic success in subjects such as writing, math, basic science, and library research skills. A separate account will need to be created to access the resources in Learning Express.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full-Text indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports, and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals and nearly 30 full-text monographs including Handbook of Electronic & Digital Acquisitions (2006), Library/Vendor Relationships (2006), Journals of the Century, etc. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. The thesauri in Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text includes 6,800 terms, 2,700 of which are preferred terms. This database also includes author profiles. Customers can review information on 5,000 of the frequently indexed authors, such as which subject terms are most commonly applied to their articles, and in which publications the author has been published.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Quick reference at the point-of-care, including evidence-based care sheets that summarize diseases and conditions, cultural competency information, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. You can use this resource to find clinical reviews, journal articles, books, and patient information. An exciting feature of this database is the ability to customize patient information sheets with illustrated instructions for therapeutic exercises, your contact information, and any special instructions you may have for the patient.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, with access to more than 1600 full-text journals, abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, and data mined from priority coverage journals and selective coverage journals. SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

All HTML Full Text articles in EBSCOhost databases have a text-to-speech option and an option to download the audio file as an MP3. However, many articles are not available in HTML. EBSCO PDFs after 2004 are ADA compliant. Accessibility in a PDF document enables users with disabilities, such as blindness, low vision and mobility impairment, to read, listen to, and interact with your document content with or without the aid of assistive technology

Films on Demand

Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Video Collection from Films On Demand is to help nursing students excel in their studies and prepare for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. This streaming collection features copyrights only within the past five years and titles from trusted producers such as Classroom Productions, Inc., Medcom-Trainex, Elsevier; Cambridge Educational and Medivision.

Gale

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. This database helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Click on the Listen button to have HTML full-text documents in Gale databases read aloud. Articles may also be downloaded as an audio file in MP3. Not all Gale PDFs are ADA compliant.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world’s largest distributor of legal periodicals. HeinOnline Academic contains more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas, such as political science, criminal justice, women’s studies, civil rights, human rights, and international relations. Some of the databases included within HeinOnline Academic are the Law Journal Library, Women and the Law, U.S. Congressional Documents, Federal Register, Gun Control Regulation, Legislation in America, Pentagon Papers, Slavery in America and the World, U.S. Case Law, and the U.S. Code.

Lexicomp

Lexicomp Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring relevant, timely drug information and interactive tools, Facts & Comparisons eAnswers supports pharmacists and other healthcare professionals with a modern, updated user interface with intuitive navigation, advanced evidence-based and clinical content, and other essential tools to help retail pharmacies manage their workflow.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is an invaluable pharmacy, dental hygiene, and allied health resource that contains valuable drug information, patient education resources (in many languages), oral surgery videos, and other important reference information.

Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The Natural Medicine Comprehensive Database provides an evidence-based perspective on natural medicines and treatments, their interactions and effectiveness, and a comparison between these and conventional medicines.

Open Source

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Genetics Home Reference This link opens in a new window
Genetics Home Reference is a consumer health website from the National Library of Medicine, part of the National Institutes of Health, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The website provides information for the general public about the effects of genetic variation on human health. All information on Genetics Home Reference, unless otherwise noted, is written by staff of the National Library of Medicine who have advanced training in genetics and public health, and is reviewed by experts in research and patient care. Genetics Home Reference is published weekly and its content is updated regularly.

GeneEd allows use of special adaptive equipment to access their website while supporting ADA provisions. They will also provide any information on their website in an alternate format if there are any issues encountered.

Open Library This link opens in a new window
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. To date, the website has gathered over 20 million records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.

PubChem allows use of special adaptive equipment to access their website while supporting ADA provisions. They will also provide any information on their website in an alternate format if there are any issues encountered.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed allows use of special adaptive equipment to access their website while supporting ADA provisions. They will also provide any information on their website in an alternate format if there are any issues encountered.

OvidSP

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive package of over 300 3D rotational gross anatomy videos produced and narrated by a leading anatomist—ideal for faculty and students in gross anatomy courses or in lab settings. Videos are 2-5 minutes long, with searchable indexes, and can be started, stopped and paused at any time. This online resource also offers material to support students and faculty learning and teaching structure identification including self-assessment/Q&A, PDF transcripts of the videos and more.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Over 60 ebooks available featuring the Incredibly Easy! book series for nurses. The book series is lighthearted, but never simplistic, to make learning fun and effective, while also featuring articles that are contributed by experienced clinicians, ensuring that content is based on sound clinical principles and hands-on expertise.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
This database offers over 30 full-text journals specializing in healthcare fields such as nursing, physical therapy, physician assistant, psychology, and medicine. Titles included in this database are the New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of the American Medical Association, Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy, and Nursing Administration Quarterly.

Ovid cannot claim full ADA compliance through OvidSP because of the limitations associated with web-based browser technology. However, third-party products do exist which will provide some elements of ADA compliance with the Ovid product. If you need help using one of these third-party products, please contact the library.

ProQuest

Alexander Street - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street video includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage. Patrons will find many award-winning films, including Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Subject areas include, nursing, health policy, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine/exercise science and many more.
Proquest ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
**Being replaced with ProQuest One Business** The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines several ProQuest business databases into one location. Resources include scholarly journals, eBooks, videos, company reports, market & industry reports, case studies, and trade journals. Featured titles include the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is an online tool used to gather, organize, read, and cite sources for research papers. Install the bookmark to import citation data from databases, websites, articles, & blogs or tag and annotate citations for your research projects.

Many ProQuest documents are ADA compliant. However, older PDFs (identified as ‘Scanned image PDFs’) are not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.'

McGraw-Hill

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. AccessMedicine provides instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point of care.
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is an online medical resource designed to meet the ever-changing demands of pharmacy education by providing students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. AccessPharmacy provides students with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It allows for practicing pharmacists to consult current literature on drugs, herbs, and supplements.
Access Physiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool optimized for viewing on any device.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The F.A. Davis PT Collection is the most comprehensive digital subscription product on the market for educators and physical therapy students. This partnership between F.A. Davis and McGraw-Hill Education brings you a comprehensive online PT resource that covers the entire spectrum of physical therapy for viewing on any device. The F.A. Davis PT Collection gives educators the tools needed to train the next generation of PTs, and enables physical therapy students to confidently prepare for their PT professions.

International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding

CompoundingToday.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compounding databases including: Documented formulas, General formulas, USP general formulas, Cosmetic formulas, Physiochemical database (Oral vehicles, Trademarked items), Bacterial endotoxin levels in sterile preparations, Base-salt-ester weight conversion, Chemotherapy vial reconstitution and stability, Disinfectants, Filter membrane compatibility, Flavorings, NaCl equivalent value, Oleaginous vehicles, pH adjustment, Preservatives and antioxidants, Tonicity Adjustment, Veterinary transdermals, Discontinued medications, and more.

American Pharmacists Association

Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary features APhA's authoritative textbooks, PharmacotherapyFirst, interactive self-assessments, more than 250 Active Learning Exercises easily adaptable for a variety of educational settings, case studies, and information from a variety of news sources. All of these resources are available on one comprehensive searchable platform that allows users to retrieve relevant information quickly.

IBM

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBM® Micromedex® with Watson™ combines evidence-based drug content with advanced AI search capabilities to deliver rapid, reliable answers at the point of care. Improve care experiences and efficiency with insights into drug selection, dosing, toxicology and IV compatibility – accessible from your computer or mobile device.

Have a Question?

24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.

Center for Graduate Studies A-Z Database List: Databases by Platform

Alerts

Access Medicine, Access Pharmacy, Access Physiotherapy, and F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection (McGraw-Hill Medical)

Online Databases