Skip to Main Content
What are Practice Guidelines?
Clinical practice guidelines are recommendations on how to accurately diagnose and treat a medical condition. They are mainly written for doctors, but also for nurses and other health care professionals. Clinical practice guidelines summarize the current medical understanding, weighing the benefits and disadvantages of diagnostic procedures and treatments, and give specific recommendations based on this information. They should also provide details regarding the scientific evidence supporting those recommendations. Clinical practice guidelines should be updated regularly
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by Dianne V. Jewell
Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Fourth Edition teaches the knowledge and skills to evaluate medical evidence and apply it to the practice of physical therapy. This valuable reference explains the fundamentals of medical research and how to determine which studies are useful in practice. As the leading evidence-based practice text for physical therapy, this is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.The Fourth Edition has been updated with new clinical scenarios, additional research examples, and more activities to support the application of key concepts. This practical guide empowers readers to learn how to evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge essential for physical therapist students to develop a strong foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine. New to the Fourth Edition* New Clinical Scenarios at the beginning of each chapter aid in the application of key concepts* New chapter on appraising qualitative research studies* Expanded coverage of clinical practice guidelines* Updated coverage of the most commonly used electronic search engines* Inclusion of updated terminology from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0Instructor Resources* Test Bank* Slides in PowerPoint format* Instructor Manual [New!]* Sample Syllabus* Image BankStudent ResourcesNavigate Companion Website - Available at go.jblearning.com/Jewell4eCWS* Practice Quizzes* Interactive Glossary* Interactive Flashcards* Crossword Puzzles* Web Links
Manual for Physical Agents by Kathy Hall; Karen Hayes
Publication Date: 2011-01-05
MANUAL FOR PHYSICAL AGENTS, 6/e is a core education resource for modern physical therapists, therapist assistants, and athletic trainers. It integrates concise summaries of the theoretical background and available evidence for each technique; step-by-step instructions presented generically, without brand names; and broad coverage of most current techniques. KEY FEATURES: Designed for easy use, its lay-flat spiral binding remains open while students practice independently in laboratory sessions; concise tables provide fast access to essential information. This edition offers stronger focus on evidence-based practice; a new chapter on evaluating new interventions; new study and discussion questions; and extensive new topic coverage: from controlled cold compression to electrical stimulation for tissue repair.
Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, Fifth Edition by Mark Dutton
Publication Date: 2019-11-07
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 orthopaedic evidence-based textbook and reference guide Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient. In this comprehensive and up-to-date fourth edition, Dutton strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment. The textbook emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of electrotherapeutic and thermal modalities as adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. The content reflects the consistent unified voice of a single author-a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the examination of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through systems review and differential diagnosis aided by decision-making algorithms & features new coverage on balance and concussions. New videos on concussion testing and method techniques are available on AccessPT. This edition has an added 10-15 board review questions per chapter as well as updated chapters to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques.
Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy by Christine M. Wietlisbach
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
Written for hand therapy specialists and non-specialists, Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, 3rd Edition emphasizes treatment fundamentals, and provides tips and guidelines for hand therapy practice. This easy-to-use illustrated text and reference guide helps further develop your clinical reasoning skills by describing what goes into the evaluation process, highlighting the humanistic side of each encounter through case studies, and providing the wisdom the contributing authors have acquired through years of practice. This new edition also features additional chapters on the use of common physical agents and orthoses, plus added content on how to integrate evidence-based findings into daily hand practice. UPDATED! Chapter covering Orthoses Essential Concepts reflects the latest information in the field. Case studies with questions and resolutions help you develop strong clinical reasoning skills while presenting the human side of each client encounter. Special features sections such as Questions to Discuss with the Physician, What to Say to Clients, Tips from the Field, and more help you find your own clinical voice. Anatomy sections throughout text highlight important anatomical bases of dysfunctions, injuries, or disorders. Clinical Pearls highlight relevant information from an experienced author and contributors that you can apply to clinical practice in the future. Evaluation Techniques and Tips help you master appropriate and thorough clinical evaluation of clients. Diagnosis-specific information in the final section of the book is well-organized to give you quick access to the information you need. NEW! Chapter covering Physical Agent Modalities helps you understand how to use common hand therapy tools. NEW! Evidence-Based Practice content outlines how to closely examine evidence and integrate it into daily hand therapy practice. NEW! Photos and illustrations throughout provide clear examples of tools, techniques, and therapies.
Evidence Based Physical Therapy by Linda Fetters; Julie Tilson
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Features a five-step process for evidence-based practice. Step 1. Identify the need for information and construct a focused and searchable clinical question. Step 2. Conduct a search to find the best possible research evidence to answer your question. Step 3. Critically appraise the research evidence for validity and applicability. Step 4. Integrate the critically appraised research evidence with clinical expertise and the patient's values, preferences, circumstances, and expectations. Step 5. Evaluate the effectiveness and efficacy of your efforts in steps 1-4 and identify ways to improve them in the future. Coverage of the clinically relevant statistics and key statistical analyses that inform clinical decisions, such as confidence intervals, effect size, number needed to treat, and minimal clinically important difference. Offers key statistical analyses that inform clinical decisions, including confidence intervals, effect size, number needed to treat (NNT), and minimal clinically important differences. Includes special pedagogical elements such as specific search strategies for Searching in Pub Med, Self-Tests, Digging Deeper elements for further study, and abundant clinical case examples. Assists students in the use of current technology to enhance and communicate EBP.
Occupational Therapy by Barbara A. Boyt Schell
Publication Date: 2018-10-17
Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studie s serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY : In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Quick reference at the point-of-care, including evidence-based care sheets that summarize diseases and conditions, cultural competency information, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
Lexicomp & Tutorials
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is an invaluable pharmacy, dental hygiene, and allied health resource that contains valuable drug information, patient education resources (in many languages), oral surgery videos, and other important reference information.
Natural & Herbal Medicines / Alternate Therapies
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The Natural Medicine Comprehensive Database provides an evidence-based perspective on natural medicines and treatments, their interactions and effectiveness, and a comparison between these and conventional medicines.
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved