LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Where To Search

Where To Search - List of Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Taylor & Francis Article Link

When searching the WCU Library catalog, the View Full Text link for articles from the following five journals will send you to the Taylor & Francis Online website. The CGS Library has pre-paid for a limited number of articles per year through the Article Pass service.

Disability and Rehabilitation
Disability and Rehabilitation: Assistive Technology
Occupational Therapy in Health Care
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health
Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics.

You must sign in to the WCU Library Catalog with your Library ID and Password before going to the Taylor & Francis website. The CGS Library will provide tokens for 100 articles in 2023. When the prepaid articles are used up, you can still request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Finding Full Text of Known Articles

When you have the name of a specific journal article (along with the journal name, author details, volume number, etc.) make sure to check Google Scholar for full-text access before searching the library catalog or submitting an Interlibrary Loan request. Google Scholar has significant access to scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

How to request a free copy of an article through Interlibrary Loan. (2 min 27 sec)

On the library homepage, select "Articles" and enter the name of the article (or topic you are researching) into the search bar. After the results pop up, you can adjust the records by using the filters on the left hand side of the screen. Under "Content Type", select "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed". This adjusts the search results to only display articles that contain full-text, and have been evaluated by other professional to ensure content quality.

Another way to search for full-text articles is through our A-Z Database list. On the library homepage, select "A-Z Database List." From there you will see a large and comprehensive list of academic databases with access to thousands of full-text articles.