Skip to Main Content
Have a Question?
|24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.
Searching Using Databases
Beginning your research may become overwhelming; therefore below, you will find helpful database links to guide you through the research process. It is highly encouraged for all students, staff, and faculty to schedule a research appointment or a classroom instruction to learn more about database mechanics, search strategies, and other research needs.
Search for Articles, Books, or Other Resources
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO Reference helps find information on all subjects out of 607 reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. This database helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved