 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Absolute Essentials of Green Business by
This shortform textbook provides a core understanding of the intersection between business and the environment. The sector's rapid expansion means that many university programmes are focusing to a greater extent nowadays on the career opportunities generated by the ecological imperative - a curriculum increasingly referred to as "green business". Climate breakdown is a devastating issue facing contemporary society. With six out of the ten largest multinationals listed in the 2018 Fortune Global 500 being active in the energy sector, it is no surprise that more and more business schools are offering modules addressing the management of natural resources. The business world has made some progress incorporating green principles into their strategies and operations, but progress needs to accelerate in line with global agreements to prevent catastrophic ecological and environmental problems. Absolute Essentials of Green Businessstands out because of its singular focus on a subset of this wider curricular area. By covering both the macro (framework) and micro (business strategy) aspects of the topic, the book's structure is in line with the way modules of this nature are taught in universities today. Students of business and environmental studies will benefit from reading this concise textbook in order to develop their understanding of a fundamental element of the social science curriculum. ocus on a subset of this wider curricular area. By covering both the macro (framework) and micro (business strategy) aspects of the topic, the book's structure is in line with the way modules of this nature are taught in universities today. Students of business and environmental studies will benefit from reading this concise textbook in order to develop their understanding of a fundamental element of the social science curriculum.
A Contemporary Look at Business Ethics by
A Contemporary Look at Business Ethics provides a 'present day' look at business ethics to include the challenges, opportunities and increased need for ethical leadership in today's and tomorrow's organizations. The book discusses current and future business ethics challenges, issues and opportunities which provides the context leaders and their organizations must navigate. The book includes an in‐depth look at lessons learned about the causes of unethical behavior by examining a number of real‐world examples of ethical scandals from around the world that have taken place over the past few decades. The analysis of the various ethical scandals focuses on concepts like ethical versus unethical leadership, received wisdom, the bottom‐line mentality, groupthink and moral muteness, all of which contribute to the kind of organizational culture and ethical behavior one finds in an organization. The book discusses ethical decision making in general and the increased role of religion and spirituality, in confronting unethical behavior in contemporary organizations. The book also takes an in‐depth look at the impact ethical scandals have on employees and more specifically the psychological contract and person‐organization ethical fit with the goal of identifying, along with other things, what leaders can do to restore relationships with employees and rebuild the organization's reputation in the eyes of various stakeholders.
Corporate Social Responsibility by
The Business and Society (BAS) 360 book series is an annual publication targeting cutting-edge developments in the broad business and society field, such as stakeholder management, corporate social responsibility and citizenship, business ethics, sustainability, corporate governance and others. Each volume will feature a comprehensive discussion and review of the current "state" of the research and theoretical developments in a specific business and society area. For instance, volume two focuses on research drawn from work grounded in "corporate social responsibility" and "corporate citizenship." Scholars known in this discipline contribute to a 360-degree evaluation of the theory, including cross-discipline research, empirical explorations, cross-cultural studies, literature critiques, and meta-analysis projects. As business and society is an inherently multi-disciplinary scholarly area, the book series will draw from work in areas outside of business and management, such as psychology, sociology, philosophy, religious studies, economics and other related fields, as well as the natural sciences, education, and other professional areas of study. This book series should appeal to wide range of readers - from emerging and senior business school educators researching and teaching in the business and society field to doctoral and masters level students across the business, social sciences and natural sciences seeking to learn about this multi-discipline and sustained field of management study. Business executives and managers could benefit from reading how the business and society field began, the path it has taken and the new, emerging directions that scholars envision for the field.
Exercising Your Ethics: Bringing Moral Strength to Business by
"Through a witty and engaging style, this book is for anyone who has a job (employees, managers, and leaders), and who wants to do the right thing, but arent always sure what that means, how to go about it, or how to withstand the forces that push all of us away from being ethical. By poking fun at the ironies and hypocrisies of human behavior, Exercising Your Ethics prompts readers to leverage techniques that can help us become more deliberate about choosing value-driven actions. In a world that seems to reward winning, regardless of how it is achieved, we need a clearer reason for wanting to be and become our best selves. This approach to business ethics is innovative, fresh, and evocative in that the serious subject is treated in an informal and adventurous manner, poking fun at the ironies and hypocrisies of human behavior. Readers will see how our race to achieve quarterly profits, combined with a self-indulgent consumption-based economy, has shaped our entire lives. Readers will delight in the books humor, as the ironies of human interaction prompt introspection to consider how to better equip oneself with the knowledge, tools, and techniques to engage in and support others in the path to moral action at work. Bringing Ethics to Work explains business ethics in a way that is engaging, understandable and enables the reader to recognise behaviors in themselves and others. It is ideal for adult education (students in undergraduate, Masters, or professional degree programs) and training within organizational settings (employees, management, and future leaders). HR professionals, team leaders, professional coaches, and organizational ethics trainers will find the book particularly insightful and useful"--
The Handbook of Business and Corruption by
For years, corruption has been dismissed as a cultural phenomenon prevalent in developing countries, mirroring low salaries, weak infrastructure, disorganized administration and unstable political conditions. What this theory fails to explain, however, is why so many western multinational corporations have been involved in corruption scandals in recent years - even though most of these companies ostensibly had anti-corruption programs and monitoring systems in place. This book considers corruption in the business world in its broadest sense, including bribery and petty payments, nepotism and cronyism, gift-giving, embezzlement of public property and money laundering. It then explores corrupt behavior across different sectors in more detail in an effort to understand how corruption varies by industry. While a number of books dealing with corruption have been published over the years, little attention has been paid to the specifics of corruption in different industries and economic sectors. With contributions from some of the leading global experts in business ethics and law, this handbook will be an essential resource for both scholars and practitioners.
Supply Chain Ethics by
It is increasingly clear that traditional supply chains which focus on sourcing products from the lowest possible cost suppliers are failing to exploit their full potential. Supply Chain Ethics, through case studies, surveys and unique research, identifies and outlines best practice employed by global manufacturers, retailers and logistics companies. It examines the so-called 'triple advantage' that accrues to businesses when strategies that combine bottom line profits, sustainable environmental practices and positive societal impact are employed. Narrow supply chain strategies which focus on only one of these three factors will inevitably fail. Supply Chain Ethics covers the following issues which affect senior supply chain, operations and manufacturing managers: 'triple advantage' best practice and how it can create value for global businesses; product design; sourcing and warehousing; transportation and recycling; environmental practices of logistics companies and suppliers; supply chain technologies. There is also an invaluable Ethical Supply Chains survey of top global companies.
Sustainability Reporting, Ethics, and Strategic Management Strategies for Modern Organizations by
Current modern companies, which are also the key factors of a global economy, are subject to increasing pressures to conduct their business in an environmentally responsible manner, due to social and environmental problems. Improving long-term environmental performance can bring economic benefits to those companies that are innovative and environmentally sensitive, especially by integrating environmental information into their business strategies. Considering all the changes, sustainability reporting, management, and financial accounting becomes a powerful information tool for executives, managers, and employee teams to gain insights and make better decisions. Along with concepts such as ethical, controlling, auditing, management, and financial accounting, reporting provides value with the decision-making process. All these debates underline the major responsibility of users when configuring accounting and finance models and thereby in modelling business information. Sustainability Reporting, Ethics, and Strategic Management Strategies for Modern Organizations proposes an interdisciplinary perspective and explores various theoretical and practical approaches of ethical standards, management accounting, and their impact in the 21st century on different areas of activity. It contrasts external financial accounting for government regulators and the investment community with internal management accounting for managers to leverage for decision making. In addition, the book examines the role of management accounting and sustainability reporting from other points of view such as ethical standards, corporate social responsibility, creative accounting, green accounting, environmental indicators, e-accounting, KPI, lean accounting, controlling, auditing, reporting, etc., offering a number of new insights into management accounting. It is intended for chief financial officers, financial controllers, business analysts, financial planners, financial analysts, budgeting managers, executives, managers, academicians, researchers, and students.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved