 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Check out our Research Basics guide. Sections include:
Check out our APA Help guide. Sections include:
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by
Part of the Essential Public Health Series, Essentials of Public Health Research Methods is specifically written for undergraduate students studying public health who want to fully understand the range of research methods as applied to public health. Using the circular model of public health research as an overarching framework, Essentials of Public Health Research Methods provides a clear, time-tested methodology that leads students step-by-step through the research process -- from framing the questions, identifying the study design and choosing methodology to collecting and analyzing data, and disseminating research findings. By following this process, students learn about various facets of public health, while also learning how to select and apply various research methodologies. Key Features:- An opening overview chapter provides the framework for the book, while opening quotes and learning objectives in each chapter provide a roadmap for skills and knowledge to be gained - Current and diverse examples illustrate each component of the process and reflect the range of public health disciplines and interests- Plentiful graphics and charts help illustrate and clarify concepts- Thought-provoking questions at the end of chapters help stimulate thought and discussion
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by
Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research, 2nd Edition provides a practical orientation to conducting effective qualitative research in the public health sphere. With thorough examination and simple explanations, this book guides you through the logic and workflow of qualitative approaches, with step-by-step guidance on every phase of the research. Students learn how to identify and make use of theoretical frameworks to guide your study, design the study to answer specific questions, and achieve their research goals. Data collection, analysis, and interpretation are given close attention as the backbone of a successful study, and expert insight on reporting and dissemination helps you get your work noticed. This second edition features new examples from global health, including case studies specifically illustrating study design, web and mobile technologies, mixed methods, and new innovations in information dissemination. Pedagogical tools have been added to help enhance your understanding of research design and implementation, and extensive appendices show you how these concepts work in practice. Qualitative research is a powerful tool for public health, but it's very easy to get it wrong. Careful study design and data management are critical, and it's important to resist drawing conclusions that the data cannot support. This book shows you how to conduct high-quality qualitative research that stands up to review.
Research Methods in Health Promotion by
The bestselling textbook to understanding health research, updated and expanded Research Methods in Health Promotion provides students and practitioners with essential knowledge and skills regarding the design, implementation, analysis, and interpretation of research in the field of health promotion. Now in its second edition, this bestselling textbook has been updated with more recent research methodologies and additional information on sampling, participatory and survey research, and qualitative data analysis. The entire research process is covered, with specific points relating to both qualitative and quantitative research. By breaking the daunting process of research into simple and well-defined steps, this user-friendly text encourages students to think about research as a sequential process and provides explanations that facilitate better understanding of each step in the research process. A separate set of chapters cover the more quantitative methodological areas including designs, measurement, sampling, and data analysis in depth, giving readers the understanding they need to apply in practice. This book also provides applied chapters that illustrate the practical aspects of the research process, along with other critical information including grant writing and scientific writing. Evaluate the ethics, design, analysis, and interpretation of research Identify and understand the key components of research studies Analyze and interpret the results of experimental and survey research designs Understand the process of publishing a research report and constructing a grant proposal Research Methods in Health Promotion is ideal for both undergrad and graduate methods courses in health promotion and public health.
Smart Use of State Public Health Data for Health Disparity Assessment by
Health services are often fragmented along organizational lines with limited communication among the public health-related programs or organizations, such as mental health, social services, and public health services. This can result in disjointed decision making without necessary data and knowledge, organizational fragmentation, and disparate knowledge development across the full array of public health needs. When new questions or challenges arise that require collaboration, individual public health practitioners (e.g., surveillance specialists and epidemiologists) often do not have the time and energy to spend on them. Smart Use of State Public Health Data for Health Disparity Assessmentpromotes data integration to aid crosscutting program collaboration. It explains how to maximize the use of various datasets from state health departments for assessing health disparity and for disease prevention. The authors offer practical advice on state public health data use, their strengths and weaknesses, data management insight, and lessons learned. They propose a bottom-up approach for building an integrated public health data warehouse that includes localized public health data. The book is divided into three sections: Section I has seven chapters devoted to knowledge and skill preparations for recognizing disparity issues and integrating and analyzing local public health data. Section II provides a systematic surveillance effort by linking census tract poverty to other health disparity dimensions. Section III provides in-depth studies related to Sections I and II. All data used in the book have been geocoded to the census tract level, making it possible to go more local, even down to the neighborhood level.
Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health by
Like all aspects of society, public health practice has been fundamentally changed by the emergence of electronic and social media as centerpieces of human communication and connection. More than ever, public health practitioners rely on these new marketing and communications technologies topromote longstanding goals like disease prevention and fostering social responsibility. Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health offers proven guidelines for crafting campaigns that work in public health. It equips readers with tools pioneered by corporate marketers to increase the efficacy of public health interventions in any setting. It also provides practical advice topractitioners seeking to assess their interventions, along with examples for effective outreach to promote smoking cessation, financial literacy, and other social goods. Combining overviews of marketing theory and methodology with practical chapters specific to public health, Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health provides a crucial and holistic understanding for this new imperative in the field.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism by
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism will continue to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance on making sure you are not committing plagiarism.
Using Sources Effectively by
Now in its fifth, expanded edition, Using Sources Effectively, Fifth Edition targets the two most prominent problems in current research-paper writing: the increase in unintentional plagiarism and the ineffective use of research source material. Designed as a supplementary textbook for both undergraduate and graduate courses, this book will help every student who uses research in writing. Included in this edition are coverage of research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), a chapter on quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and a chapter on sentence patterns (Chapter 10). APA and MLA citation styles have been updated throughout the text. To the student: This book was written to give you the knowledge and tools you can use to make your research-based writing more powerful and effective. Here are some examples: Mini-Research Projects at the end of each chapter to sharpen your research and evaluation skills A set of practical, useful rhetorical devices to help improve the clarity and impact of your writing Increased emphasis on synthesis writing#65533;weaving source use into your own thinking#65533;to give your writing more interest and persuasive power Instruction in close reading to help you better grasp what an author is discussing or arguing Strategies for organizing and positioning your sources to strengthen your central argument.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved