While all of your textbooks are available in your Canvas course pages, WCU Library provides supplementary eBooks for you to use in your research.
Additional eBooks can be found in the Research & Writing, Ethics and Evidence- Based Practice sections of this guide, as well as in the WCU library catalog.
For information on each eBook, use the circular " i " icon.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics.
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis by
This trusted handbook covers the NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses 2021-2023 and offers practical guidance on nursing diagnoses and associated care. The quick-reference type scope of content makes it easy for students to use while in clinical, in the classroom or simulation lab. From goals to specific interventions, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis focuses on nursing. It provides a condensed, organized outline of clinical nursing practice designed to communicate creative clinical nursing. It is not meant to replace nursing textbooks, but rather to provide nurses who work in a variety of settings with the information they need without requiring a time-consuming review of the literature. It will assist students in transferring their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice.
Quality Caring in Nursing and Health Systems: Implications for Clinicians, Educators, and Leaders by
The book is grounded in the author's Quality Caring Model©, a middle range theory that analyzes relationships among the self, the community, patients and families, and the health care team. It expands upon the concept of self-caring and examines current thinking on employee work engagement and creating value. Interviews with practicing nurses who describe current healthcare challenges and strategies for managing them also enrich the text. Written for nursing students, clinicians, educators, and leaders, the book delves into the intricacies of relational healthcare and imparts strategies to ameliorate the ills of our current health system by focusing on nursing care that advances equity, pursues innovative and advanced educational experiences, leads, and engages in practice across multiple settings.
Appreciative Leadership: Building Sustainable Partnerships for Health by
Appreciative Leadership: Building Sustainable Partnerships for Health explores how newly trained graduates and experienced leaders can leverage an intersdisciplinary approach focused on the strength of their teams to transform healthcare in today's complex environment. The text emphasizes how leaders can employ an actionable plan to successfully lead and positively impact health outcomes. The authors convey their approach using the appreciative model--an innovative approach which explores specific appreciative behaviors and what they look like in a complex health care system. The fundamental goal of appreciative leadership is to promote the positive performances of individuals and build on their strengths. In turn, this enables leadership the ability to focus on the alignment of strengths across diverse teams, rather than focusing on weaknesses. As newer models of relationship-based and partnership-driven approaches to leadership move to the forefront, transformative leadership is imperative to meet the demands of today's complex network-structured health systems.Key Features: Presents the appreciative model and explores specific appreciative behaviors and what they look like in a complex health network system Teaches students and professionals how to lead in a complex health system Demonstrates quantum leadership theories in practiceNavigate Companion Website featuring videos which explore key concepts
Clinical Nurse Leader Certification Review, Third Edition by
This certification review is a product of Dr. King's rigorous exam preparation course, which resulted in a 100% pass rate among students. This review serves as a helpful guide for faculty on how to design CNL review courses, and has been used to teach in CNL programs, as well as for students and nurses preparing to take the exam. Following an introductory section examining the CNL role, how to make the best use of the review, and strategies for taking tests, this text is organized to reflect the latest exam content outline, mirroring the domains and subdomains of the exam. It provides detailed information on how to analyze and interpret exam questions, disseminates expert test-taking skills, and offers a detailed content review of everything you need to know for exam success. It delivers new information corresponding to the new Commission on Nurse Certification (CNC) outline, with updated chapters on healthcare advocacy and ethics, lateral integration, interprofessional skills, team coordination, and evidence-based practice. New to the Third Edition: Reflects updates and revisions based on the most recent exam content outline Provides 200 new multiple-choice Q&As with rationale created from scratch Delivers 16 new unfolding case studies Offers new objectives, updated summaries, and innovative review activities to reinforce material in each chapter Key Features: Explains how to analyze and interpret questions for exam success Promotes savvy test-taking skills Includes a comprehensive exam with answers and rationales Includes an expanded glossary and additional tables and figures Provides easy access to information with an appendix that cross-references questions to appropriate exam content topics.
Nursing Leadership During Crisis by
In times of crisis, like the Covid-19 pandemic, nurse leaders must act immediately but also effectively. Previous disasters, emergencies, and healthcare concerns have taught us distinct lessons and forced managers to adapt, but how do you become a successful leader while battling an extreme crisis that brings new and fluctuating information every day? Nursing Leadership During Crisis guides nurse leaders from the Covid-19 pandemic to a mature perspective, integrating theoretical frameworks, ideals, processes, and reflections from those on the front lines. Drawing upon insights learned from the Covid crisis, authors Carolyn Miller Reilly, Barbara Kaplan, and Tim Porter-O'Grady provide a map of tools for a lifelong journey of development and assimilation of attitudes, skills, and behaviors to help readers establish their own leadership persona and better prepare them for future crises.
Visionary Leadership in Healthcare by
Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Management and Leadership!This book informs healthcare leaders to implement leadership theories at the micro and macro systems level. At a micro level, it explains how leaders build and maintain a healthy work environment at the individual or team levels. At the macro level, the book discusses leadership's role in facilitating change at the organizational, health system, national, global, and even planetary levels. It also expands leadership knowledge on how leaders can influence and transform practice, including policy change, disaster management, political and social determinants of health, diversity, equity, inclusion, and the Ethics of Belonging. Each chapter has a section to introduce how to integrate theories into practice.This book is timely, especially during this challenging time of pandemic. The chapters address ways to nurture a healthy work environment, mitigate organizational trauma, foster resilience, improve interprofessional collaboration, and promote exceptional patient experiences. The book gathers great minds in healthcare to make it unique from others. Each chapter uses a collective voice to shape the future of healthcare. The authors provide practical strategies for healthcare leaders to face the challenges regarding innovation, complexity, systems, and partnership in healthcare.The book comprises five parts, which support leadership development in clinical practice or academic settings. With an emphasis on collaboration and partnerships, it moves away from hierarchical forms of leadership to more engaged, open, equitable, inclusive, authentic, and caring styles. Following is a brief introduction of the five parts. Part 1 presents leadership theories in organizations. There are four chapters in this part. Part 2 addresses healthy work environments. The four chapters in this part support readers in establishing and promoting organizational culture and environments. Part 3 introduces and explains ways to apply novice leadership theories to practice. Part 4 is about collaboration, leading change, and innovation. Part 5 is about envisioning the future of healthcare leadership. This book guides readers to explore leadership possibilities and prospects from different standpoints.
DNP Scholary Project eBooks can be found in the DNP Scholarly Project Guide.
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing by
This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish.
The Doctor of Nursing Practice by
Faculty and students will appreciate the wealth of content and learning resources packed into this guide including comprehensive chapter overviews, interviews and more! New content including the new AACN Essentials document and how the new competencies are related to role development. New chapter on relationship building and the DNP discussion of the growth and impact of social media and apps on the DNP role. Exploration of the impact of COVID-19 on nursing and technology thorough discussion of the DNP degree past, present, and future including in-depth content relating the new AACN Essentials document to the future of nursing education and practice
Certifed Nurse Educator Review by
The fourth edition of Certified Nurse Educator (CNE(R)/CNE(R)n) Review is designed to help you prepare for the National League for Nursing (NLN) certification exams. Designed for use by both novice and expert nurse educators, this comprehensive study aid with practice Q&A features a systematic approach to exam preparation and incorporates all key competencies and essential knowledge areas. The fourth edition has been updated to closely reflect the latest exam blueprints as well as current practices and an in-depth focus on the nurse educator shortage; competency-based education; technological teaching ;learning tools, such as virtual simulation; and multigenerational learners. Case studies, critical-thinking questions, evidence-based teaching practice boxes, and teaching gems are also featured. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. .
Certified Nurse Educator (CNE®) and Certified Nurse Educator Novice (CNE®n) Exam Prep by
With a perfect balance of content review and practice questions from nursing education thought leader Donna Ignatavicius, no other book prepares you as well for success as Certified Nurse Educator (CNE®) and Certified Nurse Educator Novice (CNE®n) Exam Prep. Up-to-date coverage reflects the latest exam blueprints and incorporates each of the eight CNE® and CNE®n competencies, making this the ideal resource for gaining certification and advancing your career. Introductory chapter provides essential orientation to the CNE® and CNE®n Exams. "Right-sized" content review for each of the eight CNE® and CNE®n competencies provides focused, need-to-know review content for more efficient study. A robust collection of CNE® and CNE®n review questions for each of the eight competencies provides formative self-assessment for the CNE® and CNE®n Exams. Concluding Planning for Success on the CNE® and CNE®n Exam chapter provides essential study and preparation tips as faculty prepare to take the CNE® and CNE®n Exams. Comprehensive Practice Exam provides authentic practice for the CNE® and CNE®n Exams. Answer Keys for both the chapter-ending CNE® and CNE®n Practice Questions and the Comprehensive Practice.
Nurse As Educator by
Nurses play a crucial role as educators no matter their professional position in the workforce. They often lead in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. Award-winning educator, Susan Bastable, comprehensively covers the major principles of teaching and learning for all audiences in a new edition of her best-selling text, Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice. She prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their expanding role as nurses and educators.With a focus on multiple audiences, Nurse as Educator applies to both undergraduate and graduate nursing courses. The Sixth Edition covers relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion not often found in other texts, such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socioeconomics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process.
Big Data Analytics for Smart Transport and Healthcare Systems by
This book aims to introduce big data solutions in urban sustainability applications--mainly smart transportation and healthcare systems. It focuses on machine learning techniques and data processing approaches which have the capacity to handle/process huge, live, and complex datasets in real-time transportation and healthcare applications. For this, several state-of-the-art data processing approaches including data pre-processing, classification, regression, and clustering are introduced, tested, and evaluated to highlight their benefits and constraints where data is sensitive, real-time, and/or semi-structured.
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Third Edition by
The heavily revised third edition emphasizes the importance of federal policy in digitally transforming the U.S. healthcare delivery system, addressing its evolution and current policy initiatives to engage consumers and promote interoperability of the IT infrastructure nationwide. It focuses on ways to optimize the massive U.S. investment in HIT infrastructure and examines usability, innovative methods of workflow redesign, and challenges with electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs). Additionally, the text stresses documentation challenges that relate to usability issues with EHRs and sub-par adoption and implementation. The third edition also explores data science, secondary data analysis, and advanced analytic methods in greater depth, along with new information on robotics, artificial intelligence, and ethical considerations. Contributors include a broad array of notable health professionals, which reinforces the book's focus on interprofessionalism.
Patient-Centered Digital Healthcare Technology by
Patient-Centered Digital Healthcare Technology explores the creative intersection of novel, emerging technologies and medicine. This convergence is transforming the landscape of healthcare with the overarching objectives of improving clinical outcomes and advocating wellness. The concept of encountering or treating a medical condition when it has already become disturbingly manifest is being replaced by earlier awareness, diagnosis, and proactive intervention enabled by technologies. This book features a range of innovations in health information systems and big data, artificial intelligence and machine learning, real-time home monitoring tools, smartphone apps, medical robotics and intelligent machines, virtual and augmented realities, genome sequencing, blockchain and gamification in healthcare.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved