 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Additional eBooks can be found by searching the WCU library catalog.
Click on the circular " i " icon for information on each eBook.
Basics of Psychotherapy by
Basics of Psychotherapy examines the core principles and practices that unify the hundreds of therapies in current use. Written by Dr. Glenn Makover, this book emphasizes the importance of the therapeutic alliance and the collaborative partnership between therapist and patient that must exist for any treatment to succeed. This practical and up-to-date book will be useful for both beginning and experienced clinicians.
Mindful Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This book explores how mindfulness can inform everyday therapeutic work across various presenting problems in counseling and psychotherapy. It covers ways in which mindfulness approaches complement each therapeutic approach, as well as conflicts that might arise. The author spells out how a mindfulness approach would work with common presenting issues like depression, anxiety, and addiction. This engaging and accessible book is ideal for counseling and psychotherapy students and therapists looking to complement their approach with mindfulness theory and practice.
Psychotherapy by
This book covers psychotherapy methods, outcomes, and future directions. It discusses sexual issues, emotional needs of people with intellectual disabilities, and the experience of the future. The remaining chapters focus on the work of Habib Davanloo, MD, and his discovery of concepts like Transference Neurosis. The authors, who were part of Davanloo's training workshops, provide a historical review of his ideas and techniques. They hope that their offerings will be useful to psychotherapists of any orientation.
Psychotherapy: a Practical Introduction by
Psychotherapy: A Practical Introduction is a comprehensive resource for psychiatry residents, psychiatrists, graduate trainees in psychology and clinical social work. The book covers all ACGME-required approaches to psychotherapy, assessment, case conceptualization, and providing psychotherapy in different clinical settings. It also discusses combining therapy with medication and preparation for psychotherapy supervision. This practical reference is an invaluable tool for understanding the common approaches fundamental to all therapies and learning evidence-based approaches for making treatment decisions.
Theories and Applications of Counseling and Psychotherapy by
The book "Theories and Applications of Counseling and Psychotherapy" provides students with a foundational understanding of therapeutic approaches in individual and family counseling. The authors present theories through a multicultural and social justice-oriented lens, supported by evidence. The book uses illustrations and examples from various sources to help students grasp the concepts presented in each chapter.
Unifying Psychotherapy by
Unified psychotherapy is a multicomponent biopsychosocial systems model that draws from all major psychotherapeutic paradigms. This book offers a comprehensive examination, analysis, and appraisal of the theoretical and evidence-based foundations, principles, and methods of unified psychotherapy. It includes specific intervention strategies that can be used with individuals suffering from psychological disorders and relational disturbances. The book details evidence-based interventions with case examples and discusses the current developments in psychotherapy and clinical science.
Cognitive Behaviour Therapy in the Real World by
This book provides an introduction to cognitive behaviour therapy in combination with a transdiagnostic perspective on mental health problems. It presents an overview of assessment and formulation strategies that enable therapists to compose individualised treatments for their clients.
The Big Book of Exposures by
As a clinician, do you suffer from "exposure phobia?" This breakthrough book offers 400 creative, innovative, and easy-to-implement exposure exercises to help you and your clients move past fears, energize treatment sessions, and improve client outcomes. In cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), exposures are the gold standard for treating anxiety-related disorders, including obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), panic, and phobias. But if you're like many therapists, you've likely encountered clients who are fearful or reluctant to exposure therapy. As a result, you may also shy away from doing exposures out of fear of worsening your client's anxiety or rupturing the client/therapist rapport. So, how can you find a new approach for using this effective--yet intimidating--treatment? The Big Book of Exposures offers unconventional new exposures to help you provide the most effective treatment possible. In addition, you'll also find a comprehensive overview of exposure therapy; a rationale for its use in treating anxiety-related disorders; troubleshooting tips for dealing with common roadblocks, such as avoidance; and techniques for helping clients stay motivated during treatment. With this essential resource, you'll learn to create engaging and enjoyable exposure exercises to improve treatment outcomes and help your clients live better lives.
CBT Made Simple by
CBT Made Simple, second edition, is a comprehensive guide for professionals who want to learn CBT and deliver it to clients for better treatment outcomes. It is an evidence-based treatment for various mental health disorders. The book provides you with everything you need to know about CBT, including what it is, how it works, and how to implement it in session.
Creative Approaches to CBT by
Expanding the therapist's toolkit, this book provides creative activities and exercises for every stage of the cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) process, from initial diagnosis through to relapse prevention. The exercises are an integrated part of the CBT work and assist in the process of acquiring the required skills and behavioural outcomes. Drawing on creative techniques such as clay therapy and guided imagery, each chapter focuses on a different stage or element of the CBT process and provides creative exercises to enhance the work, with clear step-by-step instructions and case examples.
Cognitive Therapy with Children and Adolescents by
Thousands of clinicians and students have turned to this casebook--now completely revised with 90% new material--to see what cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) looks like in action with the most frequently encountered child and adolescent disorders. Concise and accessible, the book is designed for optimal utility as a clinical resource and course text. Leading scientist-practitioners provide a brief overview of each clinical problem and its assessment and management. Chapters are organized around one or more detailed case examples that demonstrate how to build rapport with children and families; plan effective, age-appropriate treatment; and deliver evidence-based interventions using a variety of therapeutic strategies and materials. (Prior edition editors: Mark A. Reinecke, Frank M. Dattilio, and Arthur Freeman.) New to This Edition *Most chapters are new, reflecting nearly 15 years of advances in theory and research. *Additional chapter topics: generalized anxiety disorder and family-based treatment of adolescent substance abuse. *Streamlined, more concise format makes the book even more user friendly. *Increased attention to cultural considerations and transdiagnostic treatment strategies.
Process-Based CBT by
Edited by Steven C. Hayes and Stefan G. Hofmann, and based on the new training standards developed by the Inter-Organizational Task Force on Cognitive and Behavioral Psychology Doctoral Education, this groundbreaking textbook presents the core competencies of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) in an innovative, practically applicable way, with contributions from some of the luminaries in the field of behavioral science. CBT is one of the most proven-effective and widely used forms of psychotherapy today. But while there are plenty of books that provide an overview of CBT, this is the first to present the newest recommendations set forth by a special task force of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies--and that focuses on the application of these interventions based on a variety of approaches for doctoral-level education and training. Starting with an exploration of the science and theoretical foundations of CBT, then moving into a thorough presentation of the clinical processes, this book constitutes an accessible, comprehensive guide to grasping and using even the most difficult competencies. Each chapter of Process-Based CBT is written by a leading authority in that field, and their combined expertise presents the best of behavior therapy and analysis, cognitive therapy, and the acceptance and mindfulness therapies. Most importantly, in addition to gaining an up-to-date understanding of the core processes, with this premiere text you'll learn exactly how to put them into practice for maximum efficacy. For practitioners, researchers, students, instructors, and other professionals working with CBT, this breakthrough textbook--poised to set the standard in coursework and training--provides the guidance you need to fully comprehend and utilize the core competencies of CBT in a way that honors the behavioral, cognitive, and acceptance and mindfulness wings of the tradition.
Psychodynamic Approaches to Behavioral Change by
Psychoanalytic psychotherapies have traditionally considered behavioral change as a secondary outcome, a beneficial byproduct of gaining insight and making the unconscious conscious. Though clinical evidence suggests that an increasing number of psychoanalysts are targeting behavioral change, strategic frameworks remain scarce. Psychodynamic Approaches to Behavioral Change addresses this deficiency. This guide demonstrates how, rather than being at odds with psychoanalytic treatments, targeting behavioral change can be part of the development and employment of psychodynamic therapy and can be used to enhance self-understanding. To that end, it offers readers a framework for behavioral change interventions, including: * Identifying problematic behaviors* Examining the context, affects, and meanings of problematic behaviors* Formulating contributing intrapsychic conflicts, defenses, and developmental factors* Identifying alternative behaviors* Elaborating feelings and fantasies about performing alternative behaviors* Addressing factors that interfere with alternative behaviors* Working with the impact of behavioral change* The use of homework Clinicians will also find a frank discussion of potential pitfalls in efforts to change behaviors and a description of interventions for sustaining behavioral change, which will help them avoid some of the complex challenges that targeting behavioral change can present, as well as aid them as they work with their patients to maintain new behavior. Throughout the book, vignettes illustrate how to apply these psychodynamic techniques in the clinical setting as clinician and patient collaborate to make practical changes in the patient's life. And because of its jargon-free tone, Psychodynamic Approaches to Behavioral Change will enable a broad range of mental health professionals--whether psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, or others--who use a variety of treatments to be more effective in their approach.
Problem-Focused Psychodynamic Psychotherapy by
For many years, the general rule of thumb in psychoanalysis and psychodynamic psychotherapy has been to refrain from focusing too much on specific symptoms or problems so as to not interfere with free association or the effectiveness of the psychoanalytic approach. This volume articulates how a focused psychodynamic psychotherapeutic approach can be adapted for patients in general. Rather than one specific aspect of patients' difficulties, Problem Focused Psychodynamic Psychotherapy (PrFPP) focuses on the set of problems (e.g., symptoms, relationship issues, behavioral difficulties) a particular patient brings into the consulting room. Through numerous tables and a wealth of case vignettes, this guide provides novice and experienced clinicians alike with a general template for working with patients to identify and address the overlapping and unique dynamics of various problems. It describes how to use psychodynamic exploratory techniques to make problem lists and examine the context and emotions surrounding each issue. It also discusses how to develop a psychodynamic formulation to provide a framework for identifying and addressing the dynamic contributors to the various problems. Therapist and patient can then undertake the "working through" process to identify how specific dynamics emerge in different contexts and overlap in contributing to problems. All of these approaches help spur patients' self-reflective capacities and the identification of their own dynamics--making it possible to more rapidly address core difficulties. The work also enables the continued use of these modes of managing problems after the treatment is completed. And because PrFPP is suitable for short- and longer-term interventions, it is valuable for patients who either cannot commit to long-term treatment or only have access to brief interventions.
Guided Enactments in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy by
Thirty five percent of persons who are provided psychotherapy do not benefit from treatment, or drop out of therapy prematurely because they fail to establish a working alliance with the therapist. To address this issue the volume presents a matrix of concepts and research illustrating how traumatic experiences during childhood result in the person developing rigid cognitive functions, emotional expressions and behaviors, interfering with the person participating constructively in relationships. Based on this research, the psychotherapy conducted with an adult, an adolescent, and a child are described to illustrate why and when the therapist should engage and participate with the patient in various body activities to stimulate particular meanings and emotions that promote flexibility in the patient's cognition, emotions, and behaviors. These cases illustrate how cultivating this flexibility enables the patient to establish a working alliance with the therapist and resolve past traumatic experiences. The volume also describes a therapeutic model of techniques a therapist should follow when adult and adolescent patients fail to establish a working alliance, do not benefit from discussing and free associating, and when child patients do not benefit from play therapy.
The Freud Encyclopedia by
The first in-depth Encyclopedia on the life, work, and theories of Sigmund Freud, this A-Z reference includes the most recent debates on such topics as the theory of dreams and the Oedipus complex, as well as biographical sketches of leading figures in the Freudian movement. Coverage also includes philosophers who anticipated or influenced Freud, such as Schopenhauer and Nietzsche, and the many movements influenced by his work, from the early twentieth-century Surrealists to the present day.
Freud by
Freud: From Individual Psychology to Group Psychology, by M. Andrew Holowchak, explores Freudian psychoanalysis as a full-fledged science, as it relates psychoanalytically to issues of individual psychology (Individualpsychologie) and group psychology (Massenpsychologie). It answers questions such as "How effective did Freud perceive individual psychology to be?," "What is group psychology?," "To what extent did Freud think psychoanalytic investigation of group pathology could be curative of social ills?," "How seriously did Freud take metapsychological explanation?," and "How important were auxiliary hypotheses, borrowed (often uncritically) from other disciplines, in the formation of group psychology?" In sketching out the development of individual psychology and group psychology, Holowchak argues that for Freud, psychoanalysis was always essentially a procedure for investigating unconscious phenomena that allowed for explication and understanding of both individual and group issues. Part I of Freud focuses on individual psychology, traces out the development of Freud's thought on clinical therapy and analyzing the various clinical methods and theories Freud employed over the years. Holowchak critically examines the merit of Freudian psychoanalysis as a remedy for individual pathology. Part II focuses on group psychology, starting with an overview of the conditions influencing Freud's shift to group-psychology issues and moving on to a psychoanalytic examination of other disciplines--non-sciences and sciences alike. Finally, Holowchak analyzes the worth of Freudian psychoanalysis as a remedy for group pathology. Readers are given a comprehensive depiction as well as a critical analysis of the development of psychoanalysis in an easy-to-assimilate manner from Freud's early days in analytic therapy, beginning with his stays with Charcot and Bernheim in France, to his mature thinking, where he develops notions such as the death drive and the structural model (id, ego, and super-ego) to compensate for theoretical defects in his earlier thinking.
Falling Through the Cracks by
Psychodynamic theory and practice are often misunderstood as appropriate only for the worried well or for those whose problems are minimal or routine. Nothing could be further from the truth. This book shows how psychodynamically informed, clinically based social care is essential to working with individuals whose problems are both psychological and social. Each chapter addresses populations struggling with structural inequities, such as racism, classism, and discrimination based on immigrant status, language differences, disability, and sexual orientation. The authors explain how to provide psychodynamically informed assessment and practice when working with those suffering from mental illness, addiction, homelessness, and cognitive, visual, or auditory impairments, as well as people in prisons, in orphanages, and on child welfare. The volume supports the idea that becoming aware of ourselves helps us understand ourselves: a key approach for helping clients contain and name their feelings, deal with desire and conflict, achieve self-regulation and self-esteem, and alter attachment styles toward greater agency and empowerment. Yet autonomy and empowerment are not birthrights; they are capacities that must be fostered under optimal clinical conditions. This collection uses concepts derived from drive theory, ego psychology, object relations, trauma theory, attachment theory, self psychology, relational theories, and intersubjectivity in clinical work with vulnerable and oppressed populations. Contributors are experienced practitioners whose work with vulnerable populations has enabled them to elicit and find common humanity with their clients. The authors consistently convey respect for the considerable strength and resilience of the populations with whom they work. Emphasizing both the inner and social structural lives of client and clinician and their interacting social identities, this anthology uniquely realizes the complexity of clinical practice with diverse populations.
Humanistic Perspectives on Contemporary Counseling Issues by
This book reviews current counseling issues from a humanistic perspective, providing a valuable resource for counselors seeking effective approaches. Each chapter describes the significance of a specific counseling issue, reviews the literature on this issue, discusses the theoretical model provided by a humanistic perspective, and concludes with applications for practitioners. The book concludes with a section on the uses of humanistic approaches in counselor education and training.
The Mirror Crack'd by
This revised edition highlights the increasing complaints and civil actions against psychotherapists, urging mental health professionals to sharpen their assessment skills. It emphasizes the importance of maintaining the therapeutic frame and addresses the need for relevant codes and frameworks in the therapeutic relationship. The book aims to advocate for addressing injuries in relationships and gives voice to colleagues involved in complaints.
Contemplation and Counseling by
Contemplative prayer can be integrated into counseling practice, according to Gregg Blanton's book, Contemplation and Counseling. This approach builds a dynamic counseling approach by harmonizing the functions of words and silence and balancing the human person's dimensions: emotion, cognition, and action. Blanton offers 11 fundamental interventions and a four-stage process that uses Bible examples and his own counseling experience. Christian Association for Psychological Studies (CAPS) Books explore how Christianity relates to mental health and behavioral sciences.
An Integrative Approach to Psychotherapy and Supervision by
An Integrative Approach to Therapy and Supervision offers a flexible model for therapy and supervision practice, drawing upon Transactional Analysis, Gestalt theory, and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. The book details the theory behind the model, how it relates to existing models of supervision, and demonstrates its practical application via case material. This is a must-read for new and experienced practitioners, as well as those responsible for training therapists, counsellors and supervisors.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved