Skip to Main Content

Pharmacy (PharmD)

Library and web resources to support the PharmD degree program at West Coast University

Have a Question?

24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.

What's New?

Changes/Additions to the WCU Library's resources and this Research Guide:

Mar. 14, 2023: The videos in Library Skills Videos are kept in Panopto instead of Screencast-o-matic.

Feb. 1, 2023: Replaced CINAHL Plus and MEDLINE Complete databases with CINAHL Complete and MEDLINE Complete.

Dec. 12, 2022: Removed links to AHFS Consumer Medication Information. Database is no longer supported by EBSCO as of Dec. 2021.

Jul. 20, 2022: Added instructions to download/update Micromedex mobile apps.

Feb. 16, 2022:  Added a What's New? box to the Welcome page.

Feb. 3, 2022:  UpToDate is a new database for PharmD students and full-time faculty. Sign-in, mobile app and searching pages are added under the Clinical Summaries page.

Jan. 31, 2022:  Self-paced tutorials on Research Basics and APA were added to the On Demand Videos and Tutorials page on the WCU Library Webinars Research Guide.

Dec. 10, 2021:  Added a new video on Searching for Journal Articles.

Aug. 3 2021:  Major reformatting of this Research Guide. Moved navigation tabs from the top to the left side; reworded Welcome and Videos; replaced several old pages with new pages

May 8, 2021:  Added the new CGS A-Z Database List.

Welcome

Welcome to the WCU Center for Graduate Studies Library guide to Pharmacy for PharmD students.

This Research Guide was created by West Coast University Library staff members to be a resource for students, faculty, and staff seeking more information about the Library's resources for pharmacy.

There are also Research Guides for other aspects of the PharmD program, such as our Research Basics and APA Help guides.

Guides for research outside of the field of pharmacy are covered in the other WCU Library research guides.

  • To find the research guide that covers a library topic, use the search box in the upper right corner of the page .
  • To get quick answers to the top 100 Frequently Asked Questions about the library and library research, click the FAQs icon on the left.

An overview of Pharmacy research is given in the boxes to the left:

  • Signing in to the Library catalog and databases with your Library ID and password.
  • Finding information on a particular subject.
  • Finding articles when you know the exact title.
  • Finding the full text of an article.
  • How to save and organize your research
  • How to find articles and stay current in your field after graduation

Library ID and Password

Always start your search from the University Library page on the WCU website, or the Library page on Canvas. (Don't try to sign in from a database's website.)

When you click My Library Account or View Full Text or a database (from the A-Z Database List or the CGS A-Z Database List), you will be prompted to enter your Library ID and Password.

What's my Library ID?     Your Library ID or Username is the start of your WCU email address before the @ sign. It is the same as your Canvas ID.

What's my Password?     The Library does not set your password for you.  You must click the "Set/reset password" link below the Password box to set your password, or to reset your password if you forgot it.

Online Textbooks

Some of your textbooks may be available in eBook format on either of the two eBook platforms listed below. Check your syllabus to see which platform a particular eBook resides in. 

Schedule a Research Appointment

If you are interested in reserving an appointment, please complete this form.

Library Skills Videos

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation

Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us

West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved