Skip to Main Content
Have a Question?
|24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.
Databases for Medical Articles
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Databases for Non-Medical Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Only use the Academic Search Complete database to find journal articles on non-medical subjects since the medical journal coverage is the same as the MEDLINE Complete database.
Finding Full Text of Known Articles
When you have the name of a specific journal article (along with the journal name, author details, volume number, etc.) make sure to check Google Scholar for full-text access before searching the library catalog or submitting an Interlibrary Loan request. Google Scholar has significant access to scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
WCU Library doesn't have full text? Order a copy for free.
How to check whether WCU has the full text of a known article, and then order a free copy through Interlibrary Loan. (2 min 27 sec)
On the library homepage, select "Articles" and enter the name of the article (or topic you are researching) into the search bar. After the results pop up, you can adjust the records by using the filters on the left hand side of the screen. Under "Content Type", select "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed". This adjusts the search results to only display articles that contain full-text, and have been evaluated by other professional to ensure content quality.
Another way to search for full text articles is through our A-Z Database list. On the library homepage, select "A-Z Database List" under "Research Help". From there you will see a large and comprehensive list of academic databases with access to thousands of full text articles.
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved