 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Encyclopedia of Nursing (6 Volume Set) by
This six-volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: advanced practice nursing; the nursing workforce; nurse practitioners; physician assistants; certification and licensure; psychiatric-mental health nursing; rehabilitation; nursing education and nursing students; bioengineering nursing; immunisation for healthcare workers.
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Third Edition by
Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Informatics This award-winning resource uniquely integrates national goals with nursing practice to achieve safe, efficient quality of care through technology management. The heavily revised third edition emphasizes the importance of federal policy in digitally transforming the U.S. healthcare delivery system, addressing its evolution and current policy initiatives to engage consumers and promote interoperability of the IT infrastructure nationwide. It focuses on ways to optimize the massive U.S. investment in HIT infrastructure and examines usability, innovative methods of workflow redesign, and challenges with electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs). Additionally, the text stresses documentation challenges that relate to usability issues with EHRs and sub-par adoption and implementation. The third edition also explores data science, secondary data analysis, and advanced analytic methods in greater depth, along with new information on robotics, artificial intelligence, and ethical considerations. Contributors include a broad array of notable health professionals, which reinforces the book's focus on interprofessionalism. Woven throughout are the themes of point-of-care applications, data management, and analytics, with an emphasis on the interprofessional team. Additionally, the text fosters an understanding of compensation regulations and factors. New to the Third Edition: Examines current policy initiatives to engage consumers and promote nationwide interoperability of the IT infrastructure Emphasizes usability, workflow redesign, and challenges with electronic clinical quality measures Covers emerging challenge proposed by CMS to incorporate social determinants of health Focuses on data science, secondary data analysis, citizen science, and advanced analytic methods Revised chapter on robotics with up-to-date content relating to the impact on nursing practice New information on artificial intelligence and ethical considerations New case studies and exercises to reinforce learning and specifics for managing public health during and after a pandemic COVID-19 pandemic-related lessons learned from data availability, data quality, and data use when trying to predict its impact on the health of communities Analytics that focus on health inequity and how to address it Expanded and more advanced coverage of interprofessional practice and education (IPE) Enhanced instructor package Key Features: Presents national standards and healthcare initiatives as a guiding structure throughout Advanced analytics is reflected in several chapters such as cybersecurity, genomics, robotics, and specifically exemplify how artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) support related professional practice Addresses the new re-envisioned AACN essentials Includes chapter objectives, case studies, end-of-chapter exercises, and questions to reinforce understanding Aligned with QSEN graduate-level competencies and the expanded TIGER (Technology Informatics Guiding Education Reform) competencies.
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by 
Understanding Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Here's the perfect companion to Davis Advantage forUnderstanding Medical-Surgical Nursing, 7th Edition. It offers the practice nursing students need to hone their critical-thinking and problem-solving skills, while mastering the principles, concepts, and procedures essential to success in the classroom and in practice. The Study Guide corresponds to the text chapter by chapter, while reinforcing the text's emphasis on 'connections' each step of the way. Perforated pages make it easy for students to submit their assignments to their instructors for evaluation. Updated & Revised! Thoroughly updated to reflect the content of the text New! Clinical Judgment exercises Each chapter includes... Audio Case Study Questions--Listen to the Davis Advantage audio scenario to answer the critical-thinking questions. Vocabulary Practice--Fill-in-the-blank or complete the matching activity. Activities & Exercises--Complete basic matching, true/false, word scramble, prioritization, and other exercises to practice and understand medical-surgical nursing information. Critical-Thinking & Clinical Judgment Exercises--Apply what you're learning about how to think critically and practice making good clinical judgments. SBAR, ISBARR, or CUS Communication Exercises--Practice the skills essential to communicating effectively with the health care team NCLEX-PN-Style Questions--Develop your test-taking skills and identify areas for additional study. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses provide important context. A&P Exercises--Label body structures to review basic anatomy in the Function and Data Collection chapters.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Demystified, Third Edition by 
Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Medical-Surgical Nursing by 
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification: Self-Assessment and Exam Review by 
Pharmacotherapy Casebook: a Patient-Focused Approach, Eleventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Make the right drug therapy decisions with the definitive guide to pharmacotherapy principles applied in everyday practice Sub Head: Study companion to DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition Packed with 157 patient cases, Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach builds your problem-solving and decision-making skills, so you can identify and resolve the most common drug therapy challenges you'll encounter in daily practice. Its case-based approach is also ideal for PharmD, Nurse Practitioner, and other allied health courses. Providing a consistent, practical approach, this authoritative guide delivers everything you need to master patient communication, care plan development, and documenting interventions. Case chapters are organized into system sections that correspond to those of the companion textbook. Sharpen your ability to: * Identify actual or potential drug therapy problems * Determine the desired therapeutic outcome * Evaluate therapeutic alternatives * Design an optimal individualized pharmacotherapeutic plan * Evaluate the therapeutic outcome * Provide patient education * Communicate and implement the therapeutic plan Develop expertise in pharmacotherapy decision making with: * Realistic patient presentations that include medial history, physical examination, and laboratory data, followed by a series of questions using a systematic, problem-solving approach * A broad range of cases--from a single disease state to multiple disease states and drug-related problems * Expert coverage that integrates the biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences with therapeutics * Appendices containing sample answer to several cases and valuable information on medical abbreviations, laboratory tests, mathematical conversion factors, and anthropometrics
Fast Facts for Managing Patients with a Psychiatric Disorder by 
The Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Manual by 
Physical Assessment for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by 
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. 　 Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care by
How do you perceive your cultural identity? All of us are shaped by the cultures we interact with and the cultural backgrounds and ethnicities that are part of our heritage. Take a dynamic approach to the study of culture and health care relationships. Dr. Marilyn A. Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today's world. She integrates theory, practice, and evidence of transcultural caring to show you how to apply transcultural awareness to your clinical decision making. Go beyond common stereotypes using a framework that can positively impact the nurse-patient relationship and the decision-making process. You'll learn how to deliver culturally competent care through the selection and application of transcultural assessment, planning and negotiation tools for interventions.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
LGBTQ Cultures by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Winner of the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Community/Public Health category. Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated GBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology r elated to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populationsTopics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action About the Authors Michele J. Eliason, PhD, is Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Social Sciences at San Francisco State University in San Francisco, California. Peggy L. Chinn, RN, PhD, FAAN, is Professor Emerita of Nursing at the University of Connecticut and the Editor of Advances in Nursing Science . TE: Replace this text with the Full Description. Do not forget to check the Release to Eloquence box in the upper right hand corner
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by
This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Cultural Perspectives on Mental Wellbeing by
As human migration brings an ever more diverse range of people, cultures and beliefs into contact, Western medical systems must adapt to cater for the different approaches it encounters towards illness, the body, gender, mental health and death. Based upon training courses taught by the author to staff at hospitals, mental health professionals, and on degree courses, this complete resource provides an essential foundation for understanding the complex and manifold approaches to medicine and health around the world. An awareness of this diversity moreover allows healthcare professionals to better engage with their patients and offer them satisfactory care and support in the future.
Caring for the Vulnerable Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved
