Skip to Main Content
Have a Question?
|24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.
Below you will find a list of popular NCLEX books available through the West Coast University library. This is only a small sampling of available resources. Visit your campus library to find more.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri
Often called the ''the best NCLEX#65533; exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 7th Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, and updated to reflect the most current 2016 NCLEX test plan, Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 7th Edition is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,100 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give users completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, and guiding users to remediation in Saunders Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX#65533; Exam and Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Exam. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give users practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Alternate item format questions are highlighted with a special icon to easily find in the text. 85-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes list actions for clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including a detailed rationale and textbook reference. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. Page references for each question guide users toward an Elsevier nursing textbook for further study and self-remediation. Full-color designoffers a more visually engaging learning experience. Easy-to-use index lets users quickly locate questions for a given topic or body system. Recent graduate''s perspective sections offer meaningful guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, and the CAT format. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. Automatic software updates on the Evolve companion site allow users to check for changes and content updates throughout the life of the edition. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. NEW! Questions and content aligned with the latest NCLEX-RN exam reflect the increased level of difficulty and format changes in some areas. NEW! Summary of the key changes made to the 2016 NCLEX-RN test plan will be included at the beginning of the text along with how those updates are addressed throughout the new edition. NEW! Mnemonics will be included as Pyramid Alerts where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! More Priority Nursing Action boxes to communicate new and pertinent content. NEW! Revised illustrations provide a more up-to-date and consistent presentation of art throughout the text. NEW! Completely updated chapter on vital signs and laboratory values include the latest lab values. NEW! Glossary of the Pyramid Terms located in the back of the book help users access all definitions in one location.
Publication Date: 2016-09-30
Saunders 2018-2019 Strategies for Test Success by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
Get more than just practice questions; get comprehensive test and nursing school preparation that's proven to help you succeed! Written by the most trusted expert in NCLEX exam prep, Saunders 2018-2019 Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX Exam, 5th Edition is an invaluable guide that teaches you how to master the things that matter most on the NCLEX exam and your nursing school exams: critical thinking, problem solving, and time management. In this guide you'll find not only 1,200 practice questions and rationales that reflect the latest NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN test plans, but you'll also get a wealth of proven tips and real-world hints to help you overcome text anxiety, develop effective study habits, and confidently evaluate and identify the correct answer for a variety of test question types, including alternate item formats. It's a must-have resource for any nursing student who needs not just practice, but well-rounded preparation! A Reducing Test Anxiety chapter offers simple strategies to control test-induced stress and gain the confidence needed to pass exams. A Developing Study Skills chapter provides helpful tips on improving time management for more efficient exam preparation. 1,200 review questions are included in the book and online, providing a 2-in-1 approach to learning strategies and test-taking skills UNIQUE! Student-to-Student Hints highlight real life strategies that have helped other students graduate from nursing school and pass the NCLEX exam. Helpful Tips for the Nursing Student highlight the most important concepts needed for exam success. Online practice questions let you apply the strategies learned from the text in a realistic electronic testing environment. Emphasis on comprehensive test preparation helps you develop, refine, and apply the reasoning skills you need to succeed throughout nursing school and on the NCLEX examination. Priority concepts for each question help you link your concept-based classes and NCLEX prep. Chapters on specific question content - such as prioritization, pharmacology, triage/disaster management, and delegation - offer numerous examples to prepare you for higher-level questions. A fun, 4-color design features cartoons and bold designs to help engage visual learners. NEW! Thoroughly updated content reflects the most current NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN test plans. NEW! Experience level coding for questions designates each question as beginning, intermediate, or experienced to help focus your learning throughout all points of your nursing school career. NEW! Increased focus on clinical judgement incorporates strategies for clinical judgement, question data, and question abnormalities into the NCLEX-style questions. NEW! Expanded client-centered options address the increasing import of the patient-centered care QSEN competency on the NCLEX Exam. NEW! Additional coverage of interprofessionalism is incorporated.
Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Saunders Q and a Review Cards for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
With Saunders Q & A Review Cards for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 3rd Edition, you can study in a flash - anytime and anywhere! From Linda Silvestri and Angela Silvestri, the foremost experts in NCLEX prep, comes an updated collection of portable review cards with practice questions that reflect the latest NCLEX-RN test plan.?The ideal companion to Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination, these review cards contain 1,200 practice questions - each including test-taking strategies and detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers. Practice questions, organized by clinical area, appear on the front of each card with an icon indicating client need. The reverse side shows answers and rationales, along with Silvestri's unique test-taking strategies and priority nursing action tips. New to this edition are questions that address current healthcare standards and concerns, and additional alternate item format questions. 1,200 practice questions include detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers. Alternate item format questions include multiple response, prioritizing, fill-in-the-blank, chart/exhibit, and figure/illustration to prepare you for the prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills needed to pass the NCLEX-RN. UNIQUE! Test-taking strategies for each question provide direction and hints to the correct answer. UNIQUE! Organization of questions by clinical area lets you focus on areas of weakness and use the cards as study aids in course exams. Separate pharmacology section prepares you for the increased emphasis on pharmacology on the NCLEX-RN. UNIQUE! Highlighted keywords or phrases in each answer identify a recommended review topic related to the question. Color tabs make it quick and easy to locate questions in the various content areas. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the most recent NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! An increase in the number of alternate item format questions reflects the growing number of these types of question seen on the NCLEX-RN exam.
Publication Date: 2018-01-24
Pearson Reviews and Rationales by Mary Ann Hogan
For nursing students preparing for the NCLEX-RN® examination and for NCLEX-RN® preparation courses. The Ultimate NCLEX-RN® Exam Preparation Guide! New and updated, the Third Edition of the best-selling Pearson Reviews & Rationales: Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN® offers a comprehensive outline review of the essential content areas tested on the NCLEX-RN® exam, including critical areas such as management, delegation, leadership, decision-making, pharmacology, and emergency care. These topics are incorporated throughout, with ample practice questions that simulate actual difficulty levels on the NCLEX-RN® exam. Organized by the Categories of Client Needs, each unit represents one of the Categories of Client Needs and contains chapters that integrate concepts from across the nursing curriculum, providing a uniquely synthesized approach to preparing for the real exam. The Third Edition provides students with access to Pearson Test Prep--a new web-based application that enables students to practice for the NCLEX anytime and anywhere using their smartphone, tablet, or computer. Pearson Test Prep includes all 1,600 questions from the book, plus an additional 4,000 questions, and features all NCLEX-style question formats. Students can customize their practice experience to focus on specific topics, question types, and areas of difficulty, or simulate a realistic NCLEX-RN® exam. Detailed reporting features help students identify and focus on improving the areas where they need the most attention so they arrive prepared and confident on test day.
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by HESI
Want to cover EVERYTHING on the NCLEX-RN? HESI can help! The HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know to not only succeed on the NCLEX-RN exam but also on your program's HESI exit exam. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this trusted guide breaks down chapters by clinical areas and the concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness to help strengthen your understanding. The companion Evolve website also offers 700 practice questions in both study and exam formats to give you valuable practice using the same electronic testing format you will face on the nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. 700 NCLEX practice questions on the companion Evolve website include alternate item formats to provide a testing experience similar to the exit and NCLEX exams. Chapters organized by clinical area enables you to easily search for various topics to review. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Critical thinking study questions (with rationales) reinforce key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the new alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Consistent format and chapter organization make it easy to move between topics when reviewing. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Updated medications and nursing interventions have been added based on the latest evidence-based practice. NEW! Revised chapter on pediatric nursing includes an updated immunization chart, referral websites, and new content on children with disabilities and chromosomal and genetic syndromes. NEW! Revised chapter on maternity nursing features updated CPR guidelines and medications for neonatal cardiac arrest, as well as new HESI Hints that reflect new modalities such as fetal cell-DNA analysis and current screening tools. NEW! Revised chapter on psychiatric nursing includes new information on autism spectrum disorders, as well as updates on DSM 5 changes. NEW! Revised chapter on geriatrics features new content on polypharmacy in the elderly, the Geriatric Depression Scale as an assessment tool, the Mini-Cog tool for mental status assessment, and new information on elder mistreatment in various settings.
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
Saunders Q and a Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
Practice makes perfect with Saunders Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition. This popular review offers more than 6,000 test questions, giving you all the Q&A practice you need to pass the NCLEX-RN® examination! Each question enhances review by including a test-taking strategy, rationales for correct and incorrect answers, and page references to major nursing textbooks. Questions are organized to match the Client Needs and Integrated Processes found in the most recent NCLEX-RN test plan. Q&A practice is also provided on an Evolve companion website, with many study and testing options. From the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, this resource is part of the popular Saunders Pyramid to Success. A detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, providing clues for analyzing and selecting the correct answer. Chapters organized by Client Needs simplify review and reflect the question mix in the NCLEX-RN test plan blueprint. Rationales are provided for both correct and incorrect answer options. All alternate item question types are represented, including multiple response, prioritizing/ordered response, fill-in-the-blank, illustration/hot spot, chart/exhibit questions, graphic option, and questions incorporating audio and video. An 85-question comprehensive exam represents the content and percentages of question types identified in the NCLEX-RN test plan. A Priority Nursing Tip is included with each question, highlighting need-to-know patient care information. Introductory chapters feature preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN including chapters on academic and nonacademic preparation, advice from a recent nursing graduate, and transitional issues for the foreign-educated nurse. NEW! Reflects the latest NCLEX-RN® test plan to familiarize you with newly added content they may encounter on the exam. NEW! Additions to the Evolve companion website include a 75-question post-test, case studies with follow-up questions, and links to animations for selected rationales, offering unique remediation opportunities. NEW! Trade drug names replaced with generic drug names reflecting latest test plan changes. NEW! Health Problem label included to help you study selected health topics. This will also allow you to focus your study when reviewing questions on Evolve.
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
NCLEX-RN® Review by Springhouse Publishing Company Staff; Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff (Prepared for Publication by)
Study more effectively and stress less with NCLEX-RN Review Made Incredibly Easy, Fifth Edition. Completely updated, this new edition employs the trusted Incredibly Easy! approach to make NCLEX review more interesting and easy to absorb. It provides page after page of solid clinical information and clear rationales in an engaging, encouraging manner that promotes knowledge retention while decreasing study anxiety. You'll actually enjoy learning, stay motivated, and improve your performance on the licensing exam! NCLEX-RN Review Made Incredibly Easy makes complex clinical concepts Incredibly Easy to understand through its unique combination of outline format and creative learning tools - including memory joggers, special review sections and visual aids - designed to reinforce key concepts for all areas on the exam. New NCLEX-style practice questions in the book and on the companion website cover all question types appearing in the latest test plan - including audio and graphic option questions. Take the stress out of studying with: Special strategy sections: Get to know the exam structure, as detailed in the current test plan Review strategies for success Insightful test-taking tips Page after page of solid clinical information and clear rationales Covers every topic on the exam A unique combination of outline format and creative learning tools reinforce key concepts "Cheat sheets" and special learning tools for quick review of important topics Clear, concise rationales for all nursing interventions Practice, practice, practice! Practice questions, including alternate format questions, at the end of each chapter and each section Go to the website for 3,250 challenging NCLEX-style practice questions, including audio questions and graphic option questions
Publication Date: 2010-07-02
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam by JoAnn Zerwekh
Prepare for the NCLEX with this fun, full-color review! Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 9th Edition uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to cover the nursing concepts and content found on the NCLEX-RN examination. A concise outline format makes studying easier, and the Evolve companion website includes 2,500 NCLEX exam-style review questions (including alternate item formats) - allowing you to create practice exams, identify your strengths and weaknesses, and review answers and rationales. Written by NCLEX expert JoAnn Zerwekh, this study guide offers a clear, visual way to remember key facts for the NCLEX exam. UNIQUE! Mnemonic cartoons provide a fun, easy way to review and remember key nursing concepts and disease processes. UNIQUE! The integrated systems approach incorporates pediatric, adult, maternity, and older adult lifespan considerations in each body system chapter. Practice questions on the Evolve companion website are available in both study and quiz modes and separated by content area, allowing you to customize your review based on your personal study needs. UNIQUE! Appendixes for each chapter summarize medications and nursing procedures for quick reference. Alternate item format questions on Evolve prepare you for the interactive question types on the NCLEX examination, including priority drag-and-drop and hot-spot (illustrated point-and-click) questions. Answers and rationales for all review questions show why correct answers are right and incorrect options are wrong. Separate chapters on pharmacology and nursing management help you to focus on these areas of emphasis on the NCLEX examination. Nursing Priority boxes make it easier to distinguish priorities of nursing care. Pharmacology tables make key drug information easy to find, with high-alert medications noted by a special icon. Special icons distinguish pediatric and adult disorders, and identify content on Self-Care and Home Care. UPDATED content reflects the most recent NCLEX-RN test plan and incorporates important clinical updates. NEW! 2,500 review questions are now included on the Evolve companion website, adding more 200 questions to the total on the previous edition. NEW! Addition of SI Units and removal of trade-name drugs reflects changes in the NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Additional alternate item questions are included on Evolve, and new questions incorporating video are also added. NEW! Test Alert! boxes in the book highlight key concepts frequently found on the NCLEX examination. NEW! Additional memory notecard-type illustrations are included in the book to accommodate visual learners.
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Cracking the NCLEX-RN with CD-ROM, 10th Edition by Princeton Review Staff
If you need to know it, it's in this book. The tenth edition of The Princeton Review's Cracking the NCLEX-RN with CD-ROMnbsp;was written and reviewed by a team of clinical nurses and NCLEX-RN experts and includes: nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;8 full-length practice NCLEX-RN exams on CD-ROM to help you get familiar with the test nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;In-depth review of pediatric and adult physiology, health promotion, maintaining an effective care environment, psychosocial integrity, and more nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Complete coverage of multiple-choice question types and alternate question formats nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Tons of in-chapter drills and sample questions to help you identify and overcome your problem areas
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
Lippincott's Q and A Review for NCLEX-RN by Diane Billings; Desiree Hensel
The 11th edition of Lippincott's Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN provides the highest-quality practice questions, detailed rationales, and preparation strategies needed to succeed on the NCLEX-RN#65533; examination. This revised reprint has been updated to ensure that content will help both U.S. and Canadian students to succeed on the licensure examination, with enhanced laboratory values, medication information, and diversity representation. The practice tests are organized into four major content areas: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing, and are followed by 6 comprehensive tests with a random selection of questions from all content areas. Other features include rationales for both incorrect and correct answers choices, all the types of alternate-format questions found on the NCLEX, an overview of the licensing examination, test-taking strategies for each question format, and study tips, including instructions for creating a personal study plan. In addition, there is a CD-ROM containing questions that allow students to practice test-taking skills in both a study and review mode, as well as student and instructor resources on thePoint.
Publication Date: 2014-10-13
Lippincott NCLEX-RN Alternate Format Questions by Diana L. Rupert
Lippincott NCLEX-RN Alternate-Format Questions , 6th edition is designed to help anyone preparing to take the RN licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. This expanded 6th edition has everything needed for students to be fully prepared to answer every type of question found on the NCLEX. More than 600 questions include multiple-response, drag-and-drop, hotspot, audio, chart, graphic option, and fill-in-the blank questions. Also included are two comprehensive tests with 100 questions each. Rationales are clear and detailed and cover correct as well as incorrect answers. Test-taking strategies help students dissect each question to its core components and provide keys to choosing the right answer. The book reviews all the topics covered on the actual NCLEX-RN. Hundreds of questions at the application level or above prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. Questions are aligned with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2016 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. An accompanying PassPoint trial site provides an additional opportunity for students to practice for NCLEX while also giving a glimpse of the full PassPoint experience.
Publication Date: 2016-04-20
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved