 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Additional eBooks can be found in the Research & Writing and Evidence-Based Practice sections of this guide, and in the WCU library catalog.
For information on each eBook, hover over the circular " i " icon.
Essential Clinical Procedures by 
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More, Second Edition, guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the design, delivery and evaluation of scientific communication, yet these skills are essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap, providing visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters and websites. The book provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations and demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques.
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by
Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
Explaining research: How to reach key audiences to advance your work by
Explaining Research is the first comprehensive communications guidebook for scientists, engineers, and physicians. Drawing on knowledge gleaned from a forty-year career in research communications, Dennis Meredith maps out how scientists can utilize sophisticated tools and techniques to disseminate their discoveries to important audiences. He explains how to use websites, blogs, videos, webinars, old-fashioned lectures, news releases, and lay-level articles to reach key audiences, emphasizing along the way that a strong understanding of the audience in question will allow a more effective communication tailored to a unique background and set of needs. In addition to drawing on the experience of the author, the book also includes excerpts from interviews with 45 of the country's leading science communications experts, including academics, authors, journalists, and public information officers.As the "information age" places new demands on scientists, Explaining Research will be a valuable resource not only for current professional scientists, but also for students who are the voice of the science community's next generation.This authoritative guide shows how to: · Develop a "strategy of synergy" that makes research communication efficient and effective · Give compelling talks · Build a professional Web site · Create quality posters, photos, animations, videos, e-newsletters, blogs, podcasts, and Webinars · Write popular articles and books · Persuade donors, administrators and other key funding decision-makers · Produce news releases that attract media coverage · Give clear media interviews · Serve as a public educator in schools and science centersVisit www.explainingresearch.com to learn more about the book and additional resources.
Fast Facts for Pediatric Primary Care by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Uniquely written from the perspectives of a Nurse Practitioner and a Physician Assistant This quick-access reference guide encompasses all key diagnostic and management essentials needed for safe, effective pediatric practice. By incorporating the most current sources of literature and evidence-based practice, this guide explains how to best assess, diagnose, and treat common pediatric disorders in an ambulatory care setting. This practical, pocket-sized resource is presented in bulleted format with concise paragraphs, providing access to key information at a glance. Chapters are consistently organized by body system with focused assessment and diagnosis of the most common clinical problems and treatment options. Key points, important developmental milestones, and illness prevention and management sections provide practitioners important content to educate patients and family easily and thoroughly. Abundant tables and charts help to facilitate quick reference to key components of practice. Links to frequently updated clinical guidelines and important web resources ensure that practitioners can maintain access to the most current knowledge available. Key Features: Provides speedy access to crucial information with bulleted content, concise paragraphs, chapter objectives, key points, and tables. Conveniently organized by most commonly seen diseases and disorders Provides links to frequently updated clinical guidelines and web resources
Fast Facts to Loving Your Research Project by
While often greeted with trepidation, the importance of a research project--how it is conducted and its significance to practice--is an essential aspect of nursing and other healthcare arenas. This innovative resource is a user-friendly introduction to evidence-based practice and other types of research-based initiatives that improve patient outcomes. Using a method formed through years of teaching experience, Brenda Marshall translates the difficult and sometimes confusing language of research into everyday vocabulary, linking complicated concepts with easily understood scenarios. Written in quick-access Fast Facts style, this book presents knowledge in a consistent, step-by-step format characterized by bite-sized information. Each chapter opens with learning objectives that unfold into new concepts, followed by everyday life examples. Fast Facts boxes, systematized tables, and new vocabulary reinforce learning and highlight key concepts. This application-based approach helps students question their preconceived notions about research and then engage in it with newfound confidence.Key Features: Translates complex research concepts into straightforward languageDemonstrates clear, step-by-step methods that facilitate successful attainment of research goalsHelps students to construct an argument, build a theory, and critically explore a beliefPromotes self-sufficiency in lifelong learning and achievementWritten by an instructor whose classes have propelled many successful research careers
A Functional Approach to Educational Research Methods and Statistics by
An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students.
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
Literature Reviews Made Easy by
This book is designed to help you achieve one specific goal. It's not designed to give you the philosophies of conducting research. It's not designed to give you a background in a specific academic discipline or a specific topic. It's not designed to give you theory. It's designed specifically to instruct you in the practicalities of the writing process used to create strong, thorough, and potentially bulletproof literature reviews. This book is the culmination of years of research experience. It's also the culmination of several years of teaching writing and critical thinking to doctoral students. Although it began as a tool for doctoral students, it has been expanded to be useful for everyone from senior high school students through doctoral candidates working on developing their first literature review or a larger literature review than they normally develop. It has been created for everyone from academics to new business entrepreneurs with good ideas who are trying to write their first reviews to support the new idea they're proposing.
Medical Nutrition and Disease by
Medical Nutrition and Disease: A Case-Based Approach is an ideal way for medical students, physician assistant students, dietetic students, dietetic interns, and medical residents to advance their nutrition knowledge and skills. Dietitians in clinical practice and dietetic educators will also benefit from the updated nutrition concepts and case-based approach. The 5th edition of this best-selling text has been fully updated and includes 13 chapters and 29 cases, with 6 brand new cases. The text is a practical guide to the role that nutrition plays in disease prevention, treatment, and management and also provides 48 self-study continuing education credits (C.E.) for dietitians. Medical Nutrition and Disease: * Features learning objectives and current references in every chapter and case * Teaches you how to diagnose and manage nutritional problems, integrate nutrition into clinical practice, and answer your patients' most common questions * Includes nutritional advice for children, teenagers, pregnant women, and older adults * Includes contributions from nationally recognized nutritionists and physicians who teach nutrition in medical schools, and undergraduate and dietetic programs Registered dietitians can earn 48 C.E. credits from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics by successfully completing the updated multiple-choice questions included in the book. Everything has been pre-approved by the Commission on Dietetic Registration and there are no additional fees.
Netter's clinical anatomy by
"Focus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this book is an ideal anatomy reference for students who want to make the most of their study time or need a concise review of clinical anatomy" -- Publisher's description
Nursing Research Using Case Studies by
Once considered to be a lesser pedagogical method, the case study is now recognized as a powerful, in-depth tool for examining evidence-based practice as it relates to patient care, family dynamics, professional roles, and organizational systems. Here is a unique how-to guide to conducting research using case studies. Focusing on current leading methodologies, the text describes the philosophical basis and state of the art for using this qualitative method. The peer-reviewed designs (including interviews, physiological measurements, psychological tests, and analyses of patients' diaries and journals) are accompanied by an in-depth research plan, a discussion of appropriate methods, and ethical considerations. The text provides clear directives - bolstered by nursing examples - on how to solve practical problems a researcher may encounter. Examples from international scholars who have published research using case studies are included along with coaching designed to support the new researcher in making decisions and facing challenges. The text is the eighth in a series of concise volumes addressing a variety of methods for conducting qualitative research. Conceived and edited by a noted expert in qualitative research, the book is designed for both novice and practicing researchers seeking to develop or expand their competency, health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students. Key Features: Explains clearly and concisely how to conduct research using case studiesReviews the philosophical basis for using case studiesFocuses on solving practical problems related to conducting researchOffers rich nursing exemplars and coaching from international health/mental health contributors
Physician Assistant PANCE and PANRE by
Essentials for supporting Physician's Assistants (PA-S) and Certified Physician's Assistants (PA-C) in a stripped down, need-to-know 6 page laminated guide to the PANCE/PANRE registry exam. Focus is on exam content areas that are important in practice analysis as outlined by the NCCPA. The study guide is split into the content task areas that the NCCPA has highlighted in their exam content blueprint. To increase scores for certification and recertification this guide is a must-have. 6-page laminated guide includes: Overview History-Taking Skills Risk Factors For Selected Medical Conditions Performing Physical Examinations Laboratory Studies Diagnostic Studies Clinical Intervention Formulating Diagnoses Health Maintenance Pharmaceutical Therapeutics Basic Science Concepts Organ System Disorders
Presenting Your Research by
For many researchers, the need to present relevant and engaging material in the most effective way in an unfamiliar setting presents a potential barrier to their success as professionals. This handy guide tackles the obstacles to effective and successful presentations, considering the range of material which might be presented, the occasions which suit different types of material and the skills needed to present research in a way that is engaging and persuasive. This book addresses questions such as: Why should I give a paper and where might I give a paper? How does the conference system works? How do I prepare an abstract/outline/synopsis? How do I chose my material and prepare it for a conference presentation? How can I prepare effective conference aids? How can I overcome my nerves? How can I prepare and present effective posters for poster presentations? As with the other titles in the Success in Research series, this guide takes a hands-on approach and includes checklists, top tips, exercises and examples to help you remember what you have read and put it immediately to work! The Success in Research series, from Cindy Becker and Pam Denicolo, provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you really need to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: a Quick Reference Guide by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Concise, readable, and easy to navigate--a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research Whether you're a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests. You'll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. To enhance the learning process, all examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios. Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers: Planning a research study Writing a dissertation Types of studies in clinical research Observational and interventional studies Approaches to qualitative research Ethics in medical research Biostatistics and descriptive statistics Approaches to statistical inference
Scientist's Guide to Poster Presentations by
Scientific information is increasingly being communicated at both national and international scientific conferences in the form of poster presentations. A recent international conference, for example, which involved nearly 500 delegates from over 50 different countries, included information presented in 331 posters. Recent experience has shown, however, that the presentational stan dard of such posters, even at the international level, varies immensely. Individuals presenting well-designed, eye-catching, and engaging post ers are at a distinct advantage in promoting their scientific information. In doing so, they also promote themselves as credible scientists, as well as promoting the reputation of their establishments and countries of origin. However, producing a poster of high quality requires considerable plan ning and the acquisition of specific presentational skills. This book provides detailed practical guidance on all aspects of pre senting scientific information in the form of posters. It is assumed that the presenter has access, either at home, at work, or through libraries, to a computer or word processor, a color printer, and photocopiers. The book is intended to help scientists to gain poster presentational skills in a man ner that enables adoption of an individualistic style of presenting infor mation in a credible fashion. The book has relevance internationally and is primarily targeted at research workers, including postgraduate students and all scientific professionals who are required to present visual commu nication of scientific information.
Successful Research Projects by
Successful Research Projects: A Step-by-Step Guide is a concise and accessible text that guides students through each component of the research process. Using a step-by-step active learning approach, acclaimed professor and researcher Dr. Bernard C. Beins discusses each of the key actions required for students to confidently develop, perform, analyze, and report the results of their research in a thorough, accurate, and methodologically sound manner. Throughout the text, they will discover not only how to complete each step, but how the steps at any point relate to other aspects of their research and writing.
Systematic searching : practical ideas for improving results by 
The JAAPA QRS Review for PAs by
The perfect exam prep resource for students or practicing physician assistants seeking certification or recertification, The JAAPA QRS Review for PAs delivers an innovative approach that's proven to boost test-taking skills and confidence with positive outcomes on the PANCE and PANRE. Using the popular JAAPA Quick Recertification Series (QRS) format developed by PAs for PAs, this unique review presents up-to-date coverage of all certification and recertification topics, including preventive medicine, identification and treatment of illness, and diagnostic testing, accompanied by pre-and post-tests that help readers easily assess their knowledge and target areas for further study. This approach, designed by learning experts in partnership with leading clinicians and PA faculty, has been used successfully for more than a decade and is tailored for PAs. Combined with hands-on study tools and proven techniques to maximize learning and test-taking, this resource not only prepares students and PAs for success on the PANCE and PANRE but helps users self-assess their baseline knowledge and save time in preparation for any exam. ​NCCPA-specific approach to exam prep reflects the latest PANCE/PANRE blueprint. Popular JAAPA Quick Recertification Series (QRS) format makes essential disease information accessible and engaging. Pre-test questions at the beginning of key sections and a Post-test assess and reinforce understanding and retention for better PANCE prep. Guidance from learning experts provides study and test-taking techniques and offers an efficient approach to self-assess and target learning for exam success.
PANCE/PANRE Challenge by
Includes 6 months' free ExamPrepConnect Digital Access with print purchase! Test your PANCE or PANRE readiness challenge-bowl style with PANCE/PANRE Challenge: Quick Q&A Review. This book offers 1000 spontaneous recall and higher-level reasoning questions with short answers and quick explanations to test your clinical and professional knowledge WITHOUT using multiple answer choices as a crutch. One of the most essential high-stakes exam study tips you'll ever receive is to be able to answer test questions without looking at the answer choices. If you can achieve this successfully, there's no doubt you'll pass the PANCE or PANRE with flying colors. Organized by body system and based on all facets of the NCCPA exam blueprint, these questions challenge you to think quickly as if you were in a true patient care environment and motivate you to use critical thinking skills to apply key medical concepts. Authored by seasoned PA educators who are also challenge-bowl question writers and coaches with decades of clinical experience, this book offers you a novel approach to supplement your exam preparation experience. Not only will this book help you prepare for your certification or recertification exam, but it also provides an authentic tool to support success for your didactic and clinical training, rotation and end-of-curriculum exams, and even OSCEs! Key Features Aligned with the current NCCPA blueprint by organ systems and task categories Contains 1000 spontaneous recall and higher-level reasoning Q&A Encourages self-reflection to help learners identify strengths and weaknesses Promotes self-directed learning to solidify concepts Intentionally excludes multiple answer choices to prompt learners to think on their feet as if they were in an actual clinical scenario Content available digitally via ExamPrepConnect for study on the go ExamPrepConnect--the digital study platform that guides you confidently through your exam prep journey. With this score-boosting study tool, you can: Review all the high-quality content from the book Get organized by using the personalized study plan based on your exam date Access all 1000 questions in digital flashcard mode to enhance rapid recall skills Study by topic to identify your strengths and gaps in knowledge Connect and chat with fellow PANCE and PANRE test takers using the discussion board Play games to make studying fun See access code details inside the book. PANCE and PANRE are administered by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA), which does not endorse this product or have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text in book-only format includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Concise, readable text and an outstanding art program make Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th Edition, your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals. Presents anatomy logically by body region - as well as bonus updated eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, medical and physical therapy clinical cases, a unique Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, images, and correlates throughout that reflect the latest advances seen in clinical practice. New and updated Clinical Cases are included in the accompanying enhanced eBook. Features an updated neuroanatomy eBook chapter, so you can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Improves comprehension of complex cranial nerves with a visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Offers schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for your own anatomy drawings. Enables you to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Evolve Instructor site with a downloadable image bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved