 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." (Sackett et al., 1996, p. 71).
Sackett, D.L., Rosenberg, W.M., Gray, J.A., Haynes, R.B., Richardson, W.S., 1996. Evidence-based medicine: what it is and what it isn’t. BMJ (Clinical Research Ed.), 312(7023), 71–2. http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/bmj.312.7023.71
1. Assess the patient.
2. Ask a searchable clinical question (see "Ask" box below).
3. Acquire the evidence by searching resources.
4. Appraise the evidence for validity (is it accurate information from a reputable source?), applicability (usefulness in answering your clinical question), and timeliness (current).
5. Apply information drawn from your evidence, combined with clinical expertise and patient values to make a clinical decision in practice.
6. Self-evaluate your performance with the patient and your ability to answer your clinical question.
Evidence-Based Health and Well-Being Assessment by
The first book to teach physical assessment techniques based on evidence and clinical relevance. Grounded in an empirical approach to history-taking and physical assessment techniques, this text for advanced health care providers and students focuses on patient well-being and health promotion. It is based on an analysis of current evidence and up-to-date guidelines and recommendations and underscores the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind physical assessment techniques. Evidence-Based Physical Examination: Best Practices for Health and Well-Being Assessment offers the unique perspective of teaching both a holistic and scientific approach to assessment. Chapters are consistently structured for ease of use to include anatomy and physiology, key history questions and considerations, physical examination, laboratory considerations, imaging considerations, evidence-based practice recommendations, and differential diagnoses related to normal and abnormal findings. Case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways aid retention and countless illustrations, images, and videos demonstrate advanced history-taking and assessment techniques. Ancillary resources include an instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; videos; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank. This is the physical assessment text of the future. Key Features: Delivers the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind advanced history-taking and assessment techniquesEschews "traditional" techniques that do not demonstrate evidence-based reliabilityFocuses on the most current clinical guidelines and recommendations from resources such as the US Preventative Services Task ForceFocuses on the use of modern technology for assessmentAids retention through case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeawaysDemonstrates advanced techniques with countless illustrations, images, and videosIncludes a robust instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank.Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Delivers unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP in nursing programs A fundamental, reader-friendly guide to evidence-based practice (EBP) for BSN, MSN, and DNP nursing students, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing explains the conceptual underpinnings of EBP and demonstrates how nurses can put EBP concepts into practice. Replete with critical knowledge, skills, tools, and scholarly development to enable nurses to fully and confidently deliver the highest-quality EBP care, this book eschews a one-size-fits-all approach in favor of unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP. Building blocks of information grow progressively more complex, enabling their application to any point along nursing's academic trajectory. Thoughtfully organized to fit a variety of EBP-related course objectives, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing easily adapts for standalone EBP courses at any level as well as advanced practice specialty courses that integrate EBP content. This book addresses the needs of all nursing instructors, including those who teach at multiple levels simultaneously. Key content includes requisite conceptual knowledge of EBP for building clinical decision-making skills; conceptualizing, implementing, and evaluating EBP projects; applying translational science; quality improvement for implementation and evaluation of EBP; developing leadership and structural empowerment strategies; and analyzing how students at each degree/level work with EBP independently, interprofessionally, and intraprofessionally. Chapters align with AACN essentials. Key Features: Follows a methodical systematic trajectory, building from simple to complex conceptsIncludes abundant examples demonstrating both negative and positive EBP applicationsEnables instructors to adopt one textbook for students at different levels of knowledge and educationIncludes practical design templates for developing EBP implementation plans with critical guidepostsProvides a quality improvement toolkit, key words and concepts, illustrative tables, and figures
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare by
British Medical Association Book Award Winner - President's Award of the Year 2018 From the author of the bestselling introduction to evidence-based medicine, this brand new title makes sense of the complex and confusing landscape of implementation science, the role of research impact, and how to avoid research waste. How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare clearly and succinctly demystifies the implementation process, and explains how to successfully apply evidence-based healthcare to practice in order to ensure safe and effective practice. Written in an engaging and practical style, it includes frameworks, tools and techniques for successful implementation and behavioural change, as well as in-depth coverage and analysis of key themes and topics with a focus on: Groups and teams Organisations Patients Technology Policy Networks and systems How to Implement Evidence-Based Healthcare is essential reading for students, clinicians and researchers focused on evidence-based medicine and healthcare, implementation science, applied healthcare research, and those working in public health, public policy, and management.
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by
Hospitals and healthcare systems around the world have attempted to build and sustain evidence-based practice (EBP) cultures and environments, yet they have struggled to clearly understand what EBP competency means. Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare clears up that confusion and serves as a guide for clinicians, leaders, faculty, EBP mentors, and students in achieving EBP competency, facilitating evidence-based decision making in daily practice, and accelerating the speed at which research knowledge is translated into real-world settings to improve health outcomes and decrease healthcare costs. Authors Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, and Ellen Fineout-Overholt provide step-by-step explanations and case scenarios that illustrate realistic advice and ready-to-use resources to help organizations integrate EBP broadly and deeply across their infrastructure to improve patient care quality and safety. Doody 5 Star Review "This exemplary work divides EBP into small, palatable components that highlight its indispensability in nursing practice. To my knowledge, there is no other reference that identifies EBP competencies better -- if at all." -Jill P. Massengale, BSN, MS, DNP(James A. Haley Veterans' Hospital) (c)Doody's Review Service(TM)
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines.
An evidence pyramid is a way to organize different types of evidence in EBP research. The evidence pyramid helps us visualize both the quality of evidence and the amount of evidence available. Systematic reviews are at the top of the pyramid because it is summary evidence (when experts critically evaluate all literature on a topic) and it is the least common.
When facilitating EBP (asking a clinical question), you want to look at summary evidence such as Systematic Reviews, Practice Guidelines, and any resources on critically-appraised topics.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved