Skip to Main Content
Have a Question?
|24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution.
About this Guide
Beginning your research may become overwhelming; therefore below, you will find helpful database links to guide you through the research process. It is highly encouraged for all students, staff, and faculty to schedule a research appointment or a classroom instruction to learn more about database mechanics, search strategies, and other research needs.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects This link opens in a new window
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed™ is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Dynamed is updated daily and has clinically organized summaries for more than 3200 topics.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text coverage for more than 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information essential to all aspects of the health policy discipline. This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy including, but not limited to: health care access, health care quality, health care financing, etc. The database features hundreds of thousands of records, and offers complete coverage of more than 200 full-text titles. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Quick reference at the point-of-care, including evidence-based care sheets that summarize diseases and conditions, cultural competency information, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. You can use this resource to find clinical reviews, journal articles, books, and patient information. An exciting feature of this database is the ability to customize patient information sheets with illustrated instructions for therapeutic exercises, your contact information, and any special instructions you may have for the patient.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Films on Demand
Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Video Collection from Films On Demand is to help nursing students excel in their studies and prepare for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. This streaming collection features copyrights only within the past five years and titles from trusted producers such as Classroom Productions, Inc., Medcom-Trainex, Elsevier; Cambridge Educational and Medivision.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is an invaluable pharmacy, dental hygiene, and allied health resource that contains valuable drug information, patient education resources (in many languages), oral surgery videos, and other important reference information.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The Natural Medicine Comprehensive Database provides an evidence-based perspective on natural medicines and treatments, their interactions and effectiveness, and a comparison between these and conventional medicines.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Over 60 ebooks available featuring the Incredibly Easy! book series for nurses. The book series is lighthearted, but never simplistic, to make learning fun and effective, while also featuring articles that are contributed by experienced clinicians, ensuring that content is based on sound clinical principles and hands-on expertise.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Genetics Home Reference This link opens in a new window
Genetics Home Reference is a consumer health website from the National Library of Medicine, part of the National Institutes of Health, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The website provides information for the general public about the effects of genetic variation on human health. All information on Genetics Home Reference, unless otherwise noted, is written by staff of the National Library of Medicine who have advanced training in genetics and public health, and is reviewed by experts in research and patient care. Genetics Home Reference is published weekly and its content is updated regularly.
Open Library This link opens in a new window
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. To date, the website has gathered over 20 million records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2023 All Rights Reserved