 |
| 24/7 Chat may connect you with a librarian from another institution. |
Lexi-Comp's Pediatric Dosage Handbook by
The pediatric population is a dynamic group, with major changes in pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics taking place throughout infancy and childhood. Because of these changes, the need for the evaluation and establishment of medication dosing regimens in children of different ages is great. The Pediatric Dosage Handbook, 17th Edition, continues to be the trusted resource for all medical professionals managing pediatric patients.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Perfect for this student nurse!“Seriously, I love this book. It has already helped me ace 2 assignments! Definitely a must-have for student nurses.”—Amy L., Online Student Reviewer SAFETY FIRST WITH ‘CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan—643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care'approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In-depth coverage of patient safety, red tab for high-alert medications, red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, and REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Special considerations for patient populations Icon highlighting pharmacogenomic content IV administration coverage Patient and family teaching guidance Canadian-specific content identified with a maple leaf icon FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING & PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Pronunciation Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Eight audio podcasts covering must-know information, concepts, and considerations for safe drug administration Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Lippincott's Drugs to Know for the NCLEX-RN by
A pocket-sized manual for preparing nursing students for the medications questions asked on the NCLEX-RN Exam. Nursing students are more concerned about medications than about any other subject on NCLEX, and this book provides the answers. Organized by drug class, thsi valuable guide lists over 300 drugs that you may be asked about NCLEX. Each drug comes with detailed information on its side effects and nursing considerations. Best of all, it is created to address those aspects of medications that are specifically emphasized noted on the NCLEX test plan.
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety -- helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographs on the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.
NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam by
Ideal for studying on-the-go, Kaplan's portable, pocket-sized NCLEX-RN Drug Guide provides concise review of the most commonly tested medications on the NCLEX-RN. Flashcard-style pages feature more than 300 frequently tested terms and explanations, including drug family, nursing considerations, side effects, and the purpose of each drug. Streamlined Review Flashcard-style pages with more than 300 of the most commonly tested drugs grouped by medication category The most up-to-date content, including new focus on each drug's purpose Index of brand names and generic names Convenient phonetic pronunciation keys Appendix of medical abbreviations for quick reference Expert Guidance Expert guidance and study tips for mastering the essential content Kaplan's expert nursing faculty reviews and updates content annually. We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for almost 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.
Pharmacy Calculations by
Offering a complete review of the basic mathematics concepts and skills, Pharmacy Calculations: An Introduction for Pharmacy Technicians, Second Edition provides students with the pharmacy basics necessary for correctly interpreting prescriptions and drug orders, and for performing dosing calculations that technicians face every day. The second edition has been streamlined to focus on the most important pharmacy calculation concepts-covering the fundamentals related to accuracy and basic math operations, units of measurement and conversions, critical thinking in problem solving, dosing calculations, percentages, concentration calculations, compounding formulas, intravenous infusion calculations, and business math. What's new in this edition? The chapters are broken down into four units and organized to complement most pharmacy technician training curricula and to support the ASHP-ACPE model curriculum: Review of Mathematics Systems of Measurement Preparing for Problem Solving in Pharmacy Dosing Calculations and other Pharmacy Problems Key features throughout the book include: Chapter objectives Key terms and definitions Examples of problem scenarios or calculations questions and solutions "Tech Note!" - provides a highlight of key points within the chapters "Numbers at Work" - illustrates why key concepts are important to know and skills are critical to master Practice problems Appendices that include the parts of a prescription, a glossary of terms, conversions, and abbreviations tables
The APhA Complete Review for Pharmacy Math by
APhA Complete Review for Pharmacy Math offers an intuitive, self-instructional review of key pharmacy math topics and calculations. Filled with real-world practice problems and mapped to the NABP NAPLEX® competency statements, the book is a resource for every student pharmacist or individual preparing for the NAPLEX®. KEY FEATURES:? Contains practical pharmacy applications of math concepts? Over 200 individual and case-based math practice problems with solutions ? Thoroughly covers every topic related to pharmacy calculations that a student pharmacist needs to know ? Chapters mapped to NAPLEX® competency statements relevant to pharmacy math? Comprehensive collection of questions related to nonsterile and sterile compounded preparations
Clinical Nursing Calculations by
Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. The author team draws from extensive experience across the continuum of care to bring readers a truly informative and dynamic resource. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been expertly organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration.The Joint Commission and the Institute for Safe Medication Practice guidelines regarding safe medication administration are also featured. To facilitate learning, students will find examples in both electronic medication administration record (eMAR) and electronic health record format. This text can be used as a primary text for a dosage calculations course or as a supplemental text within a nursing program or pharmacology course.Three methods of dosage calculation are presented side-by-side in table format for every dosage calculationUpdated chapter referencesUpdated content for dosing and safe injection practices per CDC Guidelines and The Joint CommissionNew information on heparin dosage protocol to reflect clinical environment practices New drug titration examples and questions NCLEX®-style review questions are includedBasic math concepts are highlighted in equations throughout the text for visual learners
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy by
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition. This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-t- on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy s- you'll find full coverage of topics including: - math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages - measurement systems and conversions - calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages - calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions - calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages - recording drug administration An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on: - calculating dosages of all kinds - starting an infusion, including IV guidelines - choosing administration equipment - dealing with poor handwriting - understanding medication labels and drug abbreviations - avoiding common drug errors Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come t- expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series: - Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label - Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions - Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors - Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages - For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings t- help you dissolve math obstacles - Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations t- practice your calculation skills on - Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas - Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter t- help you remember vital points
Drug Calculations by
Extensively covering the ratio and proportion method, Drug Calculations: Ratio and Proportion Problems for Clinical Practice, 10th Edition is known for its realistic practice problems and unique "proof" step in the answer key that lets you double-check your answers to avoid medication errors. This text addresses the current issue of patient safety with respect to accurate drug dosages through the inclusion of QSEN competencies recommendations - and with features such as new Clinical Relevance boxes and Clinical Alerts that call attention to situations in actual practice that have resulted in drug errors. You will get extensive hands-on practice for the NCLEX Exam through the text's calculation problems, critical thinking exercises, worksheets, and assessment tests. Over 1,100 practice problems in ratio and proportion offer the extensive practice needed to become proficient in drug calculations. Step-by-step format for each problem includes a unique Proof step in the answer key to ensure that you understand the solution. Patient Safety chapter helps you prevent medication errors and understand drug labels, medication administration forms, and physician's order forms. Multiple-choice Worksheets within each chapter help you prepare for the NCLEX examination. Critical thinking exercises aid you in applying analytical skills and drug calculations to clinical practice. Clinical Alerts highlight potential and common drug calculation errors. Full-color drug labels and equipment illustrations provide you with a realistic representation of medication administration and what you will encounter in the clinical setting. Detailed coverage of the ratio and proportion method provides a logical, accurate, and consistent method of drug calculation. Worksheets follow each chapter section for additional practice and application of drug calculations. NEW! Vocabulary section at the beginning of each chapter provides you with a convenient reference to definitions of terms used throughout the chapter. NEW! Clinical Relevance boxes integrate medication-related clinical practice concepts, such as: nursing practice, high-risk medications, safety issues, and common administration errors.
Dimensional Analysis for Meds by
The sixth edition of Dimensional Analysis for Meds: Refocusing on Essential Metric Calculations has been streamlined to present only the essential information. The first chapter begins with an overview of the metric system; as Curren states, 98% of all calculations involve metric measures. The text is structured to feature content in small instructional steps followed by assessments to reinforce what has been learned. To prevent annual hospital drug dose errors, the latest drug dosage abbreviations and metric notations are included giving nurses the knowledge they need to care for their patients safely.
Numeracy and Clinical Calculations for Nurses by
Numeracy and Clinical Calculations for Nursesis a user-friendly introduction for student nurses that guides you from the basics to the core calculations required in a healthcare setting. To qualify as a registered nurse you will need to demonstrate proficiency and accuracy when calculating dosages of prescribed medicines. The second edition of Numeracy and Clinical Calculations for Nursesfeatures even more worked examples and practice tests, all designed to increase your confidence and competence in calculating drug dosages and performing other important clinical calculations - a critical issue in improving patient safety. Key benefits: Diagnostic testto assess your existing skills and knowledge. Back to basics chapter uses a step-by-step approachto ensure understanding - tested by nursing lecturers and their students. Self-assessment tests throughout each chapter enable you to monitor your progress. Extensive worked examples use authentic scenarios to set learning in context. Summary tests provide practice for numeracy exams. Covers drug dosages and other clinical calculationssuch as pressure ulcer risk assessment tools, National Early Warning Score, hydration and fluid balance, Malnutrition Universal Screening Tool, BMI and ideal body weight. Answersprovided for all tests. The book also features: Error alertspointing out common errors and why they are sometimes made. Sensechecks to help you avoid fundamental errors. Tipsto help with calculations and relate them to clinical practice. Appendicescovering safe administration of medicine, routes of administration, medication administration records, drug glossary, a handy multiplication grid and simple conversion tables. Numeracy and Clinical Calculations for Nursesis required reading: Before the numeracy test at your student nurse interview. During your university course as you prepare for further numeracy exams. In practice as you get to grips with drug doses, BMI, drip rates, fluid balance, etc.
Passing Calculations Tests for Nursing Students by
With an easy to use format, this book is all your students need to face calculations tests with confidence and pass first time. It teaches simple numeracy skills that will stand them in good stead both during your initial nurse training and during their career in practice. Now with a dedicated website study.sagepub.com/starkingskrause3e accompanying the book providing further questions and practice, interactive tests, a flashcard glossary and more. Inside you'll find: #65533; over 360 practice questions with an extra 400+ available online #65533; easy to understand explanations that take the fear out of maths #65533; a diagnostic chapter to help students identify problem areas #65533; activities, scenarios and case studies from every day nursing situations
Davis's Basic Math Review for Nursing and Health Professions by Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | Federal Disclosures | State Disclosures | Title IX | Accreditation
Student Consumer Information | BPPE Annual Report & Performance Fact Sheets | BPPE Website | Catalog | Careers With Us
West Coast University © 2024 All Rights Reserved
