LibGuides: Pharmacy (PharmD): Databases

General Databases for Medical Articles

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Indexing dates back to 1937.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. With indexing coverage dating back to 1857 and 1650 full-text journals dating back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Drug Information

Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is an invaluable pharmacy, dental hygiene, and allied health resource that contains valuable drug information, patient education resources (in many languages), oral surgery videos, and other important reference information.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The Natural Medicine Comprehensive Database provides an evidence-based perspective on natural medicines and treatments, their interactions and effectiveness, and a comparison between these and conventional medicines.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects This link opens in a new window
This resource includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.

DynaMed Plus
DynaMed™ is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Dynamed is updated daily and has clinically organized summaries for more than 3200 topics.
Lexicomp Facts and Comparisons
[PharmD students: login with your Library ID and Password to access.]
Facts and Comparisons features relevant, timely drug information and interactive tools. It includes comparative charts and incorporates content from A to Z Drug Facts and Off-label Drug Facts.
Micromedex
[PharmD students: login with your Library ID and Password to access.]
The evidence-based resources of Micromedex® Solutions are used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. The industry standard for more than 40 years, Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.
CompoundingToday.com
[PharmD students: login with your Library ID and Password to access.]
Compounding databases including: Documented formulas, General formulas, USP general formulas, Cosmetic formulas, Physiochemical database (Oral vehicles, Trademarked items), Bacterial endotoxin levels in sterile preparations, Base-salt-ester weight conversion, Chemotherapy vial reconstitution and stability, Disinfectants, Filter membrane compatibility, Flavorings, NaCl equivalent value, Oleaginous vehicles, pH adjustment, Preservatives and antioxidants, Tonicity Adjustment, Veterinary transdermals, Discontinued medications, and more.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects This link opens in a new window
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.

Consumer Health

MedlinePlus
Medline Plus, a resource from NIH, is produced for non-clinicians such as patients and their families. Pharmacy students and clinicians may find this resource useful when communicating medical and drug information to patients. Additionally, all content is provided in multiple languages. You may search by health topic, or drug and supplements (generic or brand name). Drug (including OTC) information is from AHFS Consumer Medication Information (linked above).

Pricing and Economics

RedBook
RedBook is a resource used for finding the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on over 200,000 active and deactived drugs (including OTC).

Original Research

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.

Individual Pharmacy Journals

Below you will find a list of peer-reviewed journals that WCU Library subscribes to for the pharmacy department.

American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy
AJHP is the official publication of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). It publishes peer reviewed scientific papers on contemporary drug therapy and pharmacy practice innovations in hospitals and health systems.
American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
This journal is the official scholarly publication of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). It covers a wide range of topics surrounding pharmaceutical education.
Cardiovascular Drugs & Therapy
Designed to objectively cover the process of bench to bedside development of cardiovascular drug, device and cell therapy, Cardiovascular Drugs and Therapy takes a fresh and energetic look at advances in this dynamic field.
Critical Care Medicine
Critical Care Medicine is directed to those specialists (including pharmacists/pharmacologists) who treat patients in the ICU and CCU, and covers all aspects of acute and emergency care for the critically ill or injured patient.
Diabetes Care
Diabetes Care is a journal for the health care practitioner that is intended to increase knowledge, stimulate research, and promote better management of people with diabetes. The journal publishes original research on human studies in the following categories: Clinical Care/Education/Nutrition/Psychosocial Research, Epidemiology/Health Services Research, Emerging Treatments and Technologies, Pathophysiology/Complications, and Cardiovascular and Metabolic Risk.
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences.
MMWR Recommendations & Reports
The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC's scope of responsibility (e.g., recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices).
Pharmacotherapy: The Journal of Human Pharmacology and Drug Therapy
This is the official journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. It covers human pharmacology and pharmacotherapy.