LibGuides: Pharmacy (PharmD): Clinical Summaries

Micromedex & Tutorials

Micromedex
The evidence-based resources of Micromedex® Solutions are used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. The industry standard for more than 40 years, Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.

Micromedex Mobile Apps
Follow these instructions to access the Micromedex Apps. The Apps will need to be downloaded from your mobile devices respective app store. Each App has its own password which is updated every year. If you receive a notice that your password has expired, follow the steps below to retrieve the new password.

Lexicomp & Tutorials

Lexicomp
A comprehensive drug database, Lexicomp covers every patient population, as well as the following clinical specialties: Pharmacy, Nursing, Internal Medicine, Cardiology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Anesthesiology, and Dentistry. Independently rated as the #1 drug database for the PDA, Lexi-Drugs includes up to 67 fields of information, presented alphabetically, including: Adverse Reactions, Canadian brand names, Dosing, FDA Special Alerts, Medication Safety Issues, Pharmacodynamics/Kinetics, and trade names from over 100 countries.
more...less...
Drug information

Drug Summaries

Drugs.com Professional Resources
Information for Health Care professionals including:
- FDA Professional Drug Information
- A-Z Drug Facts (Facts & Comparisons)
- Micromedex Carenotes
- MedFacts Natural Products Information
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- Drug Interactions Checker

Drug Compounding

CompoundingToday.com
[PharmD students: login to your Library ID and Password to access.]
Compounding databases including: Documented formulas, General formulas, USP general formulas, Cosmetic formulas, Physiochemical database (Oral vehicles, Trademarked items), Bacterial endotoxin levels in sterile preparations, Base-salt-ester weight conversion, Chemotherapy vial reconstitution and stability, Disinfectants, Filter membrane compatibility, Flavorings, NaCl equivalent value, Oleaginous vehicles, pH adjustment, Preservatives and antioxidants, Tonicity Adjustment, Veterinary transdermals, Discontinued medications, and more.
[Note: subscription does not include King guide to parenteral admixtures.]

Clinical Practice Summaries

Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options.

Guidelines should:

be based on a systematic review of the existing evidence
be developed by a multidisciplinary panel of experts and representatives from key affected groups
consider important patient subgroups and patient preferences, as appropriate
be based on an explicit and clear process that minimizes distortions, biases, and conflicts of interest
provide a clear explanation of the logical relationships between alternative care options and health outcomes, and provide assessments of both the quality/value of evidence and the strength of the recommendations
be revised/reconsidered when important new evidence warrants modifications of recommendations

Medical Summaries

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Quick reference at the point-of-care, including evidence-based care sheets that summarize diseases and conditions, cultural competency information, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.

Guideline Central
The largest free collection of guideline summaries on the Internet.